Coastal Carolina's Jeremy Chadwell is George Munger Coach of the Year

January 20, 2021 by Rich Cirminiello,

NOTE:'s Dave Congrove is a voter of the George Munger Award and salutes Jeremy Chadwell for receiving the honor for a magnificent 2020 season.

The Maxwell Football Club today announced that Coastal Carolina head coach Jamey Chadwell has been selected as the 2020 George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award winner. In his third year as the head coach at Coastal Carolina, Chadwell led the Chants to the program’s first-ever Sun Belt Conference title and an 11-1 overall mark, including an 8-0 Sun Belt Conference record, and the program’s first-ever FBS postseason bowl game.

This season marked Coastal Carolina’s first-ever undefeated regular season and the first time that the Chanticleers were ranked in either the Associated Press Top 25 Poll or the Amway Coaches Poll presented by USA Today Sports.

In addition to being named the Munger Award winner the Chanticleer head coach has also been named the Home Depot Coach of the Year, Walter Camp Coach of the Year, the Associated Press Coach of the Year, the Sporting News’ 2020 Coach of the Year, the 2020 CBS Sports/247Sports Coach of the Year, the Paul “Bear” Bryant Group of 5 2020 Conference Coach of the Year.

Maxwell Football Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert commented, “Coach Chadwell has engineered a historic season for the Chanticleer football program. The team’s record-setting 11-1 mark is a great testament to the hard work of Coach and his staff, and also to the dedication shown by the student-athletes involved in the program. The fact that this was all accomplished under the cloud of the Covid-19 pandemic makes this achievement all that more impressive.”

Chadwell will formally be presented with the George Munger Award later this spring at a ceremony on the Coastal Carolina campus.

Questions concerning any of the Maxwell Football Club’s awards or programs can be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert at

About the Maxwell Football Club
The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) was founded in 1935 and is a registered 501c3 Non-Profit Corporation. The MFC promotes and recognizes excellence at all levels of football from youth leagues through the professional ranks. Each year the MFC offers programs which focus on player and coach development, safety, and player wellness. The Club also presents many of the premiere awards in the football world each year. Membership is open and additional information on the Club can be found at The Maxwell, Chuck Bednarik and George Munger Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 25 awards boast over 800 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.