2020 Awards Tracker - DeVonta Smith Wins Heisman; 'Bama Cleans Up On Other Awards

January 21, 2021 by Staff

After DeVonta Smith took home the Heisman on Tuesday and Steve Sarkisian had already been named top assistant, the awards kept rolling to Alabama during Thursday night's (January 7) awards show.

The 30th Annual The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN saw Smith win the Biletnikoff Award for outstanding receiver and the Maxwell Award for College Player of the Year.  Mac Jones won the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, Alex Leatherwood accepted the Outland Trophy for nation’s most outstanding interior lineman. Najee Harris collected the Doak Walker Award for premier running back, while Smith was also named the Walter Camp Player of the Year, and Landon Dickerson won the Rimington Trophy as top center.

Additional winners announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards: Tulsa’s Zaven Collins received the Chuck Bednarik Award, Miami’s Jose Borregales accepted the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, Georgia Tech’s Pressley Harvin, III took home the Ray Guy Award and TCU’s Trevon Moehrig collected the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.


In a virtual ceremony broadcast from the ESPN campus in Bristol, Connecticut on Tuesday night (January 5), Alabama's Smith claimed the 2020 Heisman Trophy. He became the first wide receiver to win the award since Desmond Howard of Michigan in 1991. Furthermore, the 6-1, 175-pounder is the first non-quarterback-or-running back to win the Heisman since cornerback Charles Woodson won in 1997.

Two of Smith's teammates joined him in the top five in the balloting as quarterback Mac Jones was 3rd and RB Najee Harris finished 5th.

Smith was No. 1 on 447 of the 927 ballots (48.2%) and he was a comfortable 669 total points ahead of the second-place finisher, quarterback Trevor Lawrence of Clemson. Three points are awarded for first, two points for second place, and one point for third.

He is the third Alabama player in history to win the award, and all three have done so since 2009. The other two were running backs - Mark Ingram in '09 and Derrick Henry in 2015. Ingram is in his 10th NFL season and Henry was this year's leading NFL rusher in the regular season for the Tennessee Titans with 2,027 yards. Henry is just the 8th 2,000-yard rusher in NFL history.

Smith, a fourth-year senior, was named the 2020 SEC Offensive Player of the Year while joining teammate Mac Jones in leading Alabama to the College Football Playoff Championship game on January 11 in Miami Gardens, Florida.

Through 12 games (including the playoff win over Notre Dame), Smith led the country with 105 receptions, 1,641 yards and 20 TD's. His 136.8 yards per game average was second best. He recorded eight games with over 100 yards receiving (all with at least 144 yards), and two games over 200 yards. He had seven games with at least two TD receptions, including two in the SEC title game and 3 in the semifinal playoff game. Smith also returned a punt for a TD for the first time in his career, going 84 yards at Arkansas in the regular-season finale. He holds the SEC and Alabama career record for receiving touchdowns with 40 and has the most 200-plus yard receiving performances in Alabama history with four.

The other finalists were:

Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson - Finished 2nd in this year's voting after a 5th-place finish in 2019. The junior was named the 2020 ACC Player of the Year and the ACC Offensive Player of the Year while leading Clemson to the No. 2 seed in the College Football Playoff. It was the third straight playoff appearance under Lawrence that includes a national title as a 2018 true freshman. 34-2 as a starter, Lawrence directed the Tigers to their sixth straight conference title in 2020 while becoming the first starting quarterback ever to win three ACC Championship Games.

Mac Jones, QB, Alabama - The redshirt junior was 3rd in Heisman voting in his first full season as Alabama’s starting quarterback. He was the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in addition to being All-SEC first team. At the time of the Heisman presentation, he had completed 275-of-357 passes for 4,036 yards, 36 TD's and 4 INT's. He was 2nd in passing yards, first in passer rating, 2nd in passing TD's, 1st in pass completion percentage at 77% and 4th in passing yards per game.  Jones completed over 80.0% of his passes four times and completed at least 74.1% of his passes in nine of 12 games. He had already been named the winner of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Kyle Trask, QB, Florida - The redshirt senior was fourth in Heisman voting in his second year as a starter after he led Florida to the SEC title game. He completed 301-of-437 passes fir 4,283 yards, 43 TD's and 8 INT's. He was 1st in passing yards and TD's, and 1/10th of a point shy being 1st in passing yards per game.

For more information, visit the official Heisman Trophy website.

2020 Heisman Voting

927 ballots were received. Three points are awarded for first place on a ballot, with two points for second place and one point for third place.

Place Player School Pos Class 1st 2nd 3rd Total Pts
1 DeVonta Smith SR WR Alabama 447 221 73 1,856
2 Trevor Lawrence JR QB Clemson 222 176 169 1,187
3 Mac Jones JR QB Alabama 138 248 220 1,130
4 Kyle Trask SR QB Florida 61 164 226 737
5 Najee Harris JR RB Alabama 16 47 74 216
6 Breece Hall SO RB Iowa State 6 10 26 64
7 Justin Fields JR QB Ohio State 5 6 21 48
8 Zach Wilson JR QB Brigham Young 3 6 21 42
9 Ian Book SR QB Notre Dame 5 5 13 38
10 Kyle Pitts JR TE Florida 0 7 10 24

NOTE: CollegeFootballPoll.com's Dave Congrove is a voter for the following awards; Fred Biletnikoff, Eddie Robinson, Ray Guy, Bednarik, Maxwell, Lou Groza  and George Munger. He is a nominating member for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Outland Trophy, and the FWAA All-America Team. His vote for each award, or top nominee, is listed below where applicable.

2020 Major Award-Winners

AP Coach Of the Year: Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina

AP Player Of the Year: DaVonta Smith, WR, Alabama

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Zaven Collins, Tulsa (Jr.)
Congrove's Vote: Patrick Surtain II, Alabama (Jr.)

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): DeVonta Smith, Alabama (Sr.)
Congrove's Vote: DeVonta Smith, Alabama (Sr.)

Frank Broyles Award (assistant coach): Steve Sarkisian, Alabama

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame (Sr.)

Walter Camp Award (top player): DeVonta Smith, Alabama

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Jose Borregales, Miami (Sr.)
Congrove's Vote: Jose Borregales, Miami (Sr.)

Ray Guy Award (punter): Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech (Sr.)
Congrove's Vote: Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech (Sr.)

Paul Hornung Award (versatile player): DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama,

John Mackey Award (tight end): Kyle Pitts, Florida (Jr.)

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): DeVonta Smith, Alabama (Sr.)
Congrove's Vote: Mac Jones, Alabama (Jr.)

George Munger Coach of the Year:  Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina
Congrove's Vote: Luke Fickell, Cincinnati

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Zaven Collins, LB, Tulsa
Congrove's Top Nominee: Nick Landman, LB, Colorado

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Mac Jones, Alabama (Jr.)

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Alex Leatherwood, Alabama (Sr.)
Congrove's Top Nominee: Alex Leatherwood, Alabama (Sr.)

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): Landon Dickerson, Alabama (Sr.)

Eddie Robinson Coach Of the Year: Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina
Congrove's Vote: Brent Brennan, San Jose State

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Trevon Moehrig, TCU (Jr.)

Johnny Unitas Award (senior, or 4th-year junior, quarterback): Mac Jones, Alabama

Doak Walker Award (running back): Najee Harris, Alabama (Sr.)