Broyles Award Announces Semifinal List Of 15 Assistant Coaches

November 20, 2023 by Frank Broyles Award Press Realese

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (November 20, 2023) – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the semi-finalists for the 2023 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches.

The 15 semi-finalists are:

ALABAMA – Tommy Rees, Offensive Coordinator/QB
FLORIDA STATE – Adam Fuller, Defensive Coordinator
GEORGIA – Mike Bobo, Offensive Coordinator/QB
IOWA – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/Secondaries
JAMES MADISON – Bryant Haines, Defensive Coordinator/LB
LOUISVILLE – Ron English, Defensive Coordinator
LSU – Mike Denbrock, Offensive Coordinator/TE
MICHIGAN – Sherrone Moore, Offensive Coordinator/OL
MISSOURI – Kevin Peoples, Defensive Line/Edge
OHIO STATE – Jim Knowles, Defensive Coordinator/LB
OREGON – Will Stein, Offensive Coordinator
PENN STATE – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/LB
TEXAS – Pete Kwiatkowski, Defensive Coordinator/OLB
UCLA – D’Anton Lynn, Defensive Coordinator
WASHINGTON – Ryan Grubb, Offensive Coordinator/QB

A selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists, five finalists from the list of nominees, and an overall winner.

The 2022 Broyles Award winner was Garrett Riley, who was the offensive coordinator at TCU. Riley is now the offensive coordinator at Clemson University. Previous winners are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award until the completion of three seasons.

The Broyles Award is presented by Oaklawn, Hot Springs, Arkansas. Proceeds from the 2023 Broyles Award support the Broyles Foundation’s mission to provide a game plan for Alzheimer’s caregivers through education, support, and resources. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, X and Instagram.

Previous Winners

2022 - Garret Riley, TCU
2021 - Josh Gattis, Michigan
2020 - Steve Sarkisian, Alabama
2019 - Joe Brady, LSU, Passing Game Coordinator/WR Coach
2018 - Mike Locksley, Alabama, OC
2017 - Tony Elliott, Clemson, OC
2016 - Brent Venables, Clemson, DC
2015 - Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma, OC
2014 - Tom Herrman, Ohio State, OC
2013 - Pat Narduzzi, Michigan State, DC
2012 - Bob Diaco, Notre Dame, DC
2011 - John Chavis, LSU, DC
2010 - Gus Malzahn, Auburn, OC
2009 - Kirby Smart, Alabama, DC
2008 - Kevin Wilson, Oklahoma, OC
2007 - Jim Heacock, Ohio State, DC
2006 - Bud Foster, Virginia Tech, DC
2005 - Greg Davis, Texas, OC
2004 - Gene Chizik, Auburn, DC
2003 - Brian VanGorder, Georgia, DC
2002 - Norm Chow, USC, OC
2001 - Randy Shannon, Miami, DC
2000 - Mark Mangino, Oklahoma, OC
1999 - Ralph Friedgen, Georgia Tech, OC
1998 - David Cutcliffe, Tennessee, OC
1997 - Jim Herrmann, Michigan, DC
1996 - Mickey Andrews, Florida State, DC

About the Broyles Award
The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook, X and Instagram.

About the National College Football Awards Association
The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. The NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.

About the Football Writers Association of America
The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-American team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

About Oaklawn
Located in Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, Oaklawn is one of the premiere Thoroughbred racetracks in the country since 1904, best known as home of the Arkansas Derby. Oaklawn holds live racing from Dec 8, 2023 to May 4, 2024 and simulcast racing throughout the year.