2017 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

July 25, 2017 by CFP Staff

NOTE: CollegeFootballPoll.com's Dave Congrove is a voting member of the Ray Guy Award.

The Augusta Sports Council has announced the preseason watch list for the 2017 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.

29 punters have been placed on the 2017 Ray Guy Award Watch List. Administered by the Augusta (Ga.) Sports Council, the award has been given annually to the nation's top punter since 2000. The list includes 2016 winner Mitch Wishnowsky of Utah and 2016 finalist Michael Dickson of Texas.

Last year marked the third straight season that a Utah punter captured the honor as Wishnowsky followed consecutive wins by Tom Hackett in 2014 and 2015.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 31. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on November 16. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced on November 21. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 7, 2017.

2017 Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch List:

Derek Adams (So.), Kent State
Jake Bailey (Jr.), Stanford
Matt Bonadies (Jr.), Middle Tennessee
Bailey Cate (So.), Old Dominion
A.J. Cole III (Jr.), North Carolina State
Jake Collins (RS Jr.), WKU
Logan Cooke (Sr.), Mississippi State
Steven Coutts (So.), California
Trevor Daniel (RS Sr.), Tennessee
Joseph Davidson (RS Sr.), Bowling Green
Michael Dickson (Jr.), Texas
Colin Downing (Sr.), Iowa State
Corey Fatony (Jr.), Missouri
Blake Gillikin (So.), Penn State
Jonathan Hernandez (Sr.), USF
Logan Laurent (RS Sr.), Massachusetts
Wade Lees (So.), Maryland
Johnny Linehan (Sr.), BYU
Adam Nunez (So.), TCU
Nick Porebski (Sr.), Oregon State
JK Scott (Sr.), Alabama
Austin Seibert (Jr.), Oklahoma
Tom Sheldon (So.), North Carolina
Zach Sinor (RS Jr.), Oklahoma State
Spencer Smith (RS Sr.), Memphis
Chris Tilbey (RS Jr.), USC
Johnny Townsend (RS Sr.), Florida
Shane Tripucka (Sr.), Texas A&M
Mitch Wishnowsky (Jr.), Utah