Congrove's 2018 Hall Of Fame Ballot Includes Vote For Beamer, Dickerson, Sapp

June 20, 2017 by Dave Congrove

The National Football Foundation concludes voting today for the 2018 College Football Hall Of Fame ballot. It is always difficult to select players and coaches from a large field of worthy candidates, but this year's crop contained more than a few "no-brainers".

It is worth noting that of the 5.19 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on Nov. 6, 1869, only 987 players, including the 2017 class, have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than two ten-thousandths (.0002) of one percent of those who have played the game during the past 149 years. From the coaching ranks, 214 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played later that day at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Some of the inductees will be on site during the announcement to represent the class and share their thoughts on being elected. The Jan. 8 announcement will be televised live, and specific viewing information will be available as the date draws near. A few inductees will also participate in the pregame festivities and the coin toss before the championship game.'s Dave Congrove has been a member of the National Football Foundation and College Hall Of Fame since 2012. He made the following selections:

FBS Head Coaches

Frank Beamer - Murray State (1981-86), Virginia Tech (1987-2015) - Winningest active coach in FBS history at the time of his retirement. Registered 23 consecutive bowl appearances in his final 23 seasons, including a trip to the 1999 National Championship game. Guided teams to eight conference titles (one at Murray State) and posted 13 seasons with 10 or more wins. 280-143-4 for career.

Mack Brown - Appalachian State (1983), Tulane (1985-87), North Carolina (1988-97), Texas (1998-2013) - Led teams to 20 consecutive winning seasons (1990-2009) and had most overall wins (225) nationally from 1990-2013. Guided Tar Heels to a 21-3 record during last two seasons at UNC. Led Texas to the 2005 National Championship, two Big 12 titles and to 162 consecutive weeks ranked in the AP poll (2000-10). 244-122 for career.

FBS Players

Morten Andersen, Placekicker, Michigan State (1978-1981) Set still-standing conference record with 63-yard field goal in 1981 and was a three-time All-Big Ten performer. Led the Spartans in scoring for three seasons.

Terrell Buckley, Defensive Back, Florida State (1989-1991) - Seminoles' all-time leader in career interceptions (21) who returned four interceptions and three punts for touchdowns in career.

Keith Byars, Running Back, Ohio State (1992-1995) - Led nation in rushing (1,764), all-purpose yards (2,441) and scoring (144) in 1984.

Marco Coleman, Linebacker, Georgia Tech (1989-1991) - Hepled lead Jackets to the national championship and an 11-0-1 record in 1990. 28 career sacks.

Eric Dickerson, Running Back, SMU (1979-1982) - Finished third in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1982. Twice named SWC Player of the Year. Holds 14 school records including 4,450 career rushing yards.

Raghib "Rocket" Ismail, Wide Receiver, Notre Dame (1988-1990) - Two-time First Team All-American. Walter Camp Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990. Helped lead ND to national championship 1988. Had 6,767 all-purpose yards, including over 1,000 yards in 3 categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns. Had 6 total return TD's.

Paul Palmer, Running Back, Temple (1983-1986) - First Team All-American in 1986 when he led the nation in rushing yards with 1,866), rushing yards per game (169.6) and all-purpose yards (2,633). Had 4,895 career rushing yards and 43 total TD's.

Antwaan Randle El, Quarterback, Indiana (1998-2001) - First player in FBS history to pass for 6,000 yards and rush for 3,000 yards in career. Rushed for more yards than any QB in FBS history upon conclusion of career.

Ed Reed, Defensive Back, Miami Hurricanes (1998-2001) - Two-time First Team All-American who helped lead Miami to the national championship in 2002. Miami's all-time leader in career INTs (21) and career INT return yards (389).

Simeon Rice, Linebacker, Illinois (1992-1995) - Two-time First Team All-American. Holds conference record for career sacks (44.5). Set school record for single-season sacks (16).

Warren Sapp, Defensive Tackle, Miami Hurricanes (1992-1994) - Won 1994 Lombardi and Nagurski awards.

Charles Woodson, Defensive Back, Michigan, (1995-1997) - Two-time First Team All-American and 1997 Heisman Trophy winner.. ALso won 1997 Walter Camp, Bronco Nagurski, Chuck Bednarik and Jim Thorpe awards. Helped lead Wolverines to national title (AP) in 1997.

Divisional Head Coaches

James Malosky - Minnesota Duluth (1958-97) - Winningest coach in Division II history at time of retirement. Named NSIC, MIAC and/or NAIA Coach of the Year 13 times. 33 winning seasons in 40 years. 225-125-13 for carrer.

Andy Talley - St. Lawrence (N.Y.) (1979-83), Villanova (1985-2016) - Led Villanova to 2009 FCS National Championship and 12 playoff appearances. All-time winningest coach in Colonial Athletic Association and Villanova history. Twice earned AFCA National Coach of the Year honors.

Divisional Players

Don Greco, Offensive Guard, Western Illinois (1977-1980) - Named First Team All-American in 1980. Two-time First Team All-Conference selection. Conference's Lineman of the Year in 1980.

John Jurkovic, Defensive End, Eastern Illinois (1985-1986, 1988-1989) - Two-time first team All-American. First player in Gateway Conference history to twice be named the Defensive Player of the Year. Helped lead Panthers twice to the NCAA I-AA playoff quarterfinal round. Set conference record with six sacks in a single game.

Steve McAdoo, Offensive Lineman, MTSU (1989-1992) - Two-time first team All-American. Helped lead the Blue Raiders to 3 Ohio Valley Conference Championships. Named to Ohio Valley Conference Half Century team.

Joe Skladany, Linebacker, Lafayette (1978-1981) - Four-year starter who never missed a game. Holds school records for career tackles (532) and blocked kicks in a season (3). Helped lead nation's second-ranked defense in 1981.