The Home Depot 30th Annunal College Football Awards Will be Held Virtually, January 7 on ESPN

November 25, 2020 by ESPN Public Relations

Usually held in December, before a live audience with winners and nominees on-site, the Covid pandemic has led to a decision to conduct the The Home Depot 30th Annual College Football Awards virtually.

The 90-minute even will air on Thursday, January 7 at 7:00 p.m. ET on ESPN. The annual awards show recognizes the accomplishments of some of the nation’s top college football student-athletes. This year’s 90-minute virtual special will be hosted by Chris Fowler with reporter Holly Rowe.

“The Home Depot College Football Awards will continue to be what they have always been, and that is a celebration of elite performances in college football,” said Pete Derzis, ESPN senior vice president of college sport programming and events. “While the award show will look different this year due to COVID-19, the spirit of the show remains the same. We look forward to honoring the stellar performances produced by these student-athletes this season.”

“With all of the challenges faced in the 2020 season, we are looking forward to the opportunity to celebrate the game, its players, coaches and the amazing performances that have taken place,” said Mark Wolpert, president of the NCFAA. “This season’s award show will truly be a recognition of not only the top players, but more importantly the incredible efforts involved in making this season possible.”

The following awards will be presented during the live telecast, with finalists announced Tuesday, Dec. 22:
Chuck Bednarik Award - Defensive Player
Biletnikoff Award - Receiver
Lou Groza - Placekicker
Ray Guy Award - Punter of the Year
Maxwell Award - Player of the Year
Dave O'Brien - Quarterback
Outland Trophy - Interior Lineman
Jim Thorpe Award - Defensive Back
Doak Walker Award - Running Back
Home Depot Coach of the Year
William V. Campbell Trophy - Scholar-Athlete
Disney Spirit Award - Inspirational Player or Team
Walter Camp All-America Team

The show will also recognize recipients of the following awards:
John Mackey Award - Tight End
Rimington Trophy - Center
Wuerffel Trophy - Community Service

NOTE:'s Dave Congrove is a:
Member Football Writers Association of America
Member National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame
Member Maxwell Football Club
Member International Football Researchers Association
Voter FWAA-NFF Super 16 Football Poll
Voter College Football Hall Of Fame
Voter Fred Biletnikoff Award
Voter Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
Voter Ray Guy Award
Voter Bednarik Award
Voter Maxwell Award
Voter George Munger Award
Voter NFL Bert Bell Player of the Year Award
Voter NFL Greasy Neale Coach of the Year Award
Nominating member Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Nominating member Outland Trophy
Nominating member FWAA All-America Team.