Super 16 Poll: Georgia Keeps Top Spot For Second Week

September 18, 2022 by FWAA, NFF,

The top four are unchanged in this week's Super 16 Poll, released Sunday afternoon.

Georgia picked up 47-of-52 first-place votes and remained No. 1 for the second week in-a-row after defeating SEC rival South Carolina 48-7 in Week 3. The top ranking marks the 'Dawgs 10th appearance at No. 1, which ties Ohio State for third-most appearances at No. 1. An SEC team has been ranked No. 1 in this poll each week dating back to September 29, 2019, a span of 30 weeks.

A panel of 52 FWAA writers and College Football Hall of Famers vote in the poll. Voters were selected to create a balanced geographical perspective and include's Dave Congrove.

No. 11 Tennessee rose to its highest ranking since the Volunteers took the No. 9 spot on October 9, 2016. NC State's No. 13 ranking marked the Wolfpacks' highest position ever in the history of the poll.

Utah at No. 14 is the only team in the poll with a loss (2-1).

Michigan State, BYU and Miami (FL) dropped out of the poll completely after suffering defeats in Week 3.

Penn State, Ole Miss and Washington joined the poll for the first time this season, claiming Nos. 12, 15 and 16, respectively. Washington's appearance in the poll marks the Huskies' first appearance since September 29, 2019.

The SEC leads all conferences with six teams, marking only the 11th time in the history of this poll for an individual conference to have at least six teams appear in the same poll. The last time occurred when the SEC did it September 16, 2021. The Big Ten and Pac-12, had three each, followed by the Big 12 and ACC with two each.

Congrove kept his top four the same with Ohio State at the top, followed by Georgia, Alabama and Michigan. He moved USC up from 9th to 5th, replacing Michigan State which he dropped to 15th. He placed Oklahoma 6th on his ballot, followed by Oklahoma State, Clemson, Kentucky and Tennessee to close out his top ten. After that, he had NC State, Ole Miss, Penn State, Washington, Michigan State and Arkansas.

Congrove removed BYU (11), Miami (14), Marshall (15) and App State (16) from his ballot, and added Ole Miss, Penn State, Washington and Arkansas.

  Team Points 1st LW
1. Georgia (3-0) 827 47 1
2. Alabama (3-0) 769 1 2
3. Ohio State (3-0) 741 4 3
4. Michigan (3-0) 650 -- 4
5. Oklahoma (3-0) 585 -- 6
6. Clemson (3-0) 577 -- 5
7. USC (3-0) 532 -- 7
8. Oklahoma State (3-0) 416 -- 8
9. Kentucky (3-0) 317 -- 10
10. Arkansas (3-0) 311 -- 9
11. Tennessee (3-0) 246 -- 14
12. Penn State (3-0) 205 -- --
13. NC State (3-0) 158 -- 16
14. Utah (2-1) 115 -- 15
15. Ole Miss (3-0) 100 -- --
16. Washington (3-0) 84 -- --

Others receiving votes:

Oregon (66), Baylor (60), Texas A&M (50), Texas (31), BYU (30), Florida State (29), Florida (24), Minnesota (19), Wake Forest (17), Miami, FL (15), Michigan State (15), Washington State (14), Kansas (6), Pittsburgh (4), TCU (3), Appalachian State (1), North Carolina (1).

Kent State at No. 1 Georgia
Vanderbilt at No. 2 Alabama
Wisconsin at No. 3 Ohio State
Maryland at No. 4 Michigan
Kansas State at No. 5 Oklahoma
No. 6 Clemson at Wake Forest
No. 7 USC at Oregon State
No. 8 Oklahoma State (Idle)
Northern Illinois at No. 9 Kentucky
No. 10 Arkansas vs. Texas A&M (Arlington, TX)
Florida at No. 11 Tennessee
Central Michigan at No. 12 Penn State
UConn at No. 13 NC State
No. 14 Utah at Arizona State
Tulsa at No. 15 Ole Miss
Stanford at No. 16 Washington

ABOUT THE FWAA-NFF SUPER 16 POLL: The FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll was established at the conclusion of the 2013 season by long-time partners, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the National Football Foundation (NFF). Voters rank the top 16 teams in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, and the results will be released every Sunday of the 2022 season; the individual votes of all members will also be made public. The first regular season poll will be released on Tuesday, Sept. 6 (to account for Labor Day games), and the final poll will be released Sunday, Dec. 4. The pollsters consist of FWAA writers and College Football Hall of Famers who were selected to create a balanced-geographical perspective. The poll utilizes a computer program designed by Sports Systems, a TicketManager company, to compile the rankings.

ABOUT THE FWAA: Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of journalists, broadcasters, publicists, photographers and key executives in all areas of college football. The FWAA works to govern media access and gameday operations while presenting awards and honors, including an annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA, visit

ABOUT THE NATIONAL FOOTBALL FOUNDATION & COLLEGE FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME: Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. Learn more at and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @NFFNetwork.