Media selects preseason 2022 Pac-12 All-Conference Football Team

July 27, 2022 by by Pac-12 Conference

SAN FRANCISCO – The preseason All-Pac-12 team, as selected by the media who cover Pac-12 football, has been announced ahead of the 2022 season.  Defending Pac-12 champion Utah and USC lead the way with six First Team selections each.

Utah RB Tavion Thomas, who had a school-record 21 rushing touchdowns last season, is one of three Utes on the First Team Offense alongside TE Brant Kuithe and OL Braeden DanielsKyle Whittingham's squad also place three on the First Team Defense with DB Clark Phillips III, DB Cole Bishop and DL Van Fillinger.  Three Utes made the Second Team, including QB Cameron Rising who was the First Team QB of the 2021 All-Pac-12 team.

USC had four players on the First Team Offense with three of them joining the team this season through the transfer portal.  QB Caleb Williams, a freshman All-American at Oklahoma last season, joins his former Sooners teammate WR Mario Williams on the First Team.  The Trojans actually had both First Team WR with Jordan Addison, who won the Biletnikoff Award last season at Pitt.  OL Andrew Vorhees, who made the AP All-American Third Team last season, rounds out USC's First Team Offense.  DL Tuli Tuipulotu represents USC on the First Team Defense, while RB Travis Dye takes the All-Purpose/Special Teams spot on the First Team.  Dye also grabbed a spot on the Second Team as a RB, one of four Trojans on the Second Team.

Pac-12 Football Media Day will be in Los Angles on Friday, July 29 and seven student-athletes on the First Team will be in attendance.  Three more from the Second Team will be on hand as well as five more who were Honorable Mention.

Click here to see the full Pac-12 football schedule, which kicks off on Thursday, Sept. 1.  


  First Team Offense     Second Team Offense
QB *Caleb Williams, USC   QB *Cameron Rising, Utah
RB Zach Charbonnet, UCLA   RB Travis Dye, USC
RB Tavion Thomas, Utah   RB Byron Cardwell, Oregon
WR Jordan Addison, USC   WR *Jacob Cowing, Arizona
WR Mario Williams, USC   WR Jake Bobo, UCLA
TE Brant Kuithe, Utah   TE Benjamin Yurosek, Stanford
OL *Jaxson Kirkland, Washington   OL Joshua Gray, Oregon State
OL Braeden Daniels, Utah   OL Brett Neilon, USC
OL *Alex Forsyth, Oregon   OL Sataoa Laumea, Utah
OL T.J. Bass, Oregon   OL Brandon Kipper, Oregon State
OL Andrew Vorhees, USC   OL *LaDarius Henderson, Arizona State
  First Team Defense     Second Team Defense
DL Tuli Tuipulotu, USC   DL Zion Tupuola-Fetui, Washington
DL Brandon Dorlus, Oregon   DL Junior Tafuna, Utah
DL *Ron Stone Jr., Washington State   DL Kyon Barrs, Arizona
DL Van Fillinger, Utah   DL Brett Johnson, California
LB Noah Sewell, Oregon   LB Merlin Robertson, Arizona State
LB Omar Speights, Oregon State   LB Justin Flowe, Oregon
LB Jackson Sirmon, California   LB Darius Muasau, UCLA
DB *Clark Phillips III, Utah   DB Christian Gonzalez, Oregon
DB *Kyu Blu Kelly, Stanford   DB Jaydon Grant, Oregon State
DB Cole Bishop, Utah   DB Rejzhon Wright, Oregon State
DB *Daniel Scott, California   DB Mekhi Blackmon, USC
  First Team Specialists     Second Team Specialists
PK Dean Janikowski, Washington State   PK Camden Lewis, Oregon
P Kyle Ostendorp, Arizona   P Luke Loecher, Oregon State
AP/ST Travis Dye, USC   AP Jack Colletto, Oregon State
RS D.J. Taylor, Arizona State   RS Gary Bryant, Jr., USC

* Will be representing their school at Pac-12 Media Day.

ALL-PAC-12 HONORABLE MENTION (received votes from four or more members of the media): 

QUARTERBACK: Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, *Tanner McKee, Stanford

RUNNING BACK: Xazavian Valladay, Arizona State; Damien Moore, California; E.J. Smith, Stanford

WIDE RECEIVER: Gary Bryant, Jr., USC; De'Zhaun Stribling, Washington State; Jalen McMillan, Washington; Elijah Higgins, Stanford; Devaughn Vele, Utah

TIGHT END: Dalton Kincaid, Utah 

OFFENSIVE LINE: Branson Bragg, Stanford; Jake Levengood, Oregon State; Ryan Walk, Oregon; *Matthew Cindric, California; Ben Coleman, California; Walter Rouse, Stanford; *Jon Gaines II, UCLA; Frank Filip, Colorado

DEFENSIVE LINE: Brennan Jackson, Washington State; Popo Aumavae, Oregon; Nick Figueroa, USC; Solomon Byrd, USC; Terrance Lang, Colorado; Jalen Sami, Colorado

LINEBACKER: Mohamoud Diabate, Utah; Korey Foreman, USC; *Kyle Soelle, Arizona State; Levani Damuni, Stanford; Edefuan Olofoshio, Washington; Daiyan Henley, Washington State; Oluwafemi Oladejo, California; Carson Bruener, Washington

DEFENSIVE BACK: Armani Marsh, Washington State; Lu-Magia Hearns III, California; JaTravis Broughton, Utah; Bennett Williams, Oregon; Xavion Alford, USC; *Stephan Blaylock, UCLA; Isaiah Lewis, Colorado; Derrick Langford, Washington State, Christian Roland-Wallace, Arizona; Jamal Hill, Oregon

PLACE KICKER: Everett Hayes, Oregon State; Dario Longhetto, California

PUNTER: Nick Haberer, Washington State; Ryan Sanborn, Stanford

ALL-PURPOSE/SPECIAL TEAMS: Seven McGee, Oregon; Nick Alftin, California; Giles Jackson, Washington 

RETURN SPECIALIST: Brenden Rice, USC; Casey Filkins, Stanford; Nikko Reed, Colorado