2022 Maxwell Award Watchlist Released

July 18, 2022 by Staff

NOTE: CollegeFootballPoll.com's Dave Congrove is a voter for the Maxwell and Bednarik awards, two of the most prestigious individual awards in college football.

The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch list for the 86th Maxwell Award presented annually to the outstanding player in college football.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell who was a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sports writer and football official.

The Maxwell Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, led by Bryce Young (Alabama) who was the 2021 winner. Young is joined by 7 additional returning semifinalists, Grayson McCall (Coastal Carolina), C.J. Stroud (Ohio State), Tanner Mordecai (SMU), Sean Tucker (Syracuse), Bijan Robinson (Texas), Brennen Armstrong (Virginia) and Sam Hartman (Wake Forest). The full list consists of 85 players with Ohio State having 3 candidates and an additional 14 schools having two players represented.

Young joins A.J. McCarron, Derrick Henry, Tua Tagovailoa and DeVonta Smith as the fifth Crimson Tide player to be selected as the Maxwell Award winner.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 1, 2022, while the three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be unveiled November 22, 2022. The winners of the 86th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 8, 2022. The formal presentations of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards live from Atlantic City, NJ on March 10, 2023.

2022 Maxwell Award Watch List

Brad Roberts, Air Force
Bryce Young, Alabama
Will Anderson, Alabama
Nate Noel, Appalachian State
Chase Brice, Appalachian State
Jacob Cowing, Arizona
KJ Jefferson, Arkansas
Tank Bigsby, Auburn
George Holani, Boise State
Phil Jurkoverc, Boston College
Jaren Hall, BYU
Lew Nichols, Central Michigan
Chris Reynolds, Charlotte
Will Shipley, Clemson
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina
Keaton Mitchell, East Carolina
Hassan Beydoun, Eastern Michigan
Anthony Richardson, Florida
Jordan Travis, Florida State
Jake Haener, Fresno State
Stetson Bennett, Georgia
Brock Bowers, Georgia
Clayton Tune, Houston
Nathaniel Dell, Houston
Chase Brown, Illinois
Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State
Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State
Marquez Cooper, Kent State
Will Levis, Kentucky
Chris Rodriguez, Kentucky
Malik Cunningham, Louisville
Kayshon Boutte, LSU
Rasheen All, Marshall
Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland
Ellis Merriweather, Massachusetts
Tyler Van Dyke, Miami
Brett Gabbert, Miami (OH)
Blake Corum, Michigan
Payton Thorne, Michigan State
Jayden Reed, Michigan State
Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota
Will Rogers, Mississippi State
Devin Leary, NC State
Josh Downs, North Carolina
Evan Hull, Northwestern
Michael Mayer, Notre Dame
C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State
TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State
Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma
Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State
Blake Watson, Old Dominion
Sean Clifford, Penn State
Aidan O’Connell, Purdue
Tanner Mordecai, SMU
Spencer Rattler, South Carolina
Tanner Mckee, Stanford
Sean Tucker, Syracuse
Quentin Johnston, TCU
Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
Cedric Tillman, Tennessee
Bijan Robinson, Texas
Xavier Worthy, Texas
Devon Achane, Texas A&M
Dequan Finn, Toledo
Michael Pratt, Tulane
DeWayne McBride, UAB
Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA
Zach Charbonnet, UCLA
Jordan Addison, USC
Caleb Williams, USC
Cameron Rising, Utah
Tavion Thomas, Utah
Logan Bonner, Utah State
Frank Harris, UTSA
Mike Wright, Vanderbilt
Brennan Armstrong, Virginia
Dontayvion Wicks, Virginia
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest
A.T. Perry, Wake Forest
Cameron Ward, Washington State
JT Daniels, West Virginia
Jarret Doege, Western Kentucky
Sean Tyler, Western Michigan
Braelon Allen, Wisconsin