Clemson, Alabama Recruits Win Maxwell High School POY Awards

January 7, 2020 by Courtesy

The Maxwell Football Club and presenting partner Adidas today announced that Bryce Young, from Mater Dei High School (Santa Ana, Calif.) and Brian Bresee from Damascus High School (Damascus, Maryland) have been selected as the 2019 Maxwell Football Club Offensive and Defensive National High School Players of the Year, respectively. This is the 13th year that this award will be presented and the 3rd in which offensive and defensive players are both recognized.

This past season Young was 294 of 409 passing for 4,528 yards and 58 touchdowns and just six interceptions. He also rushed 73 times for 357 yards and an additional 10 scores. Young faced arguably the toughest high school schedule in American, facing St. John Bosco twice, St. Frances Academy, and St. John's College, among others. He was also selected as the All American Bowl Player of the Year and was the named MVP of the All American Bowl last weekend. Young will begin classes at the University of Alabama this week.

Bresee is the top ranked player in the nation by 247Sports for the Class of 2020. The 6'5" 290 lb. Defensive Tackle accumulated 47 tackles, 30.5 tackles for a loss, 14 sacks, and 2 forced fumbles for Damascus. He was selected to the play in the 2020 All-American Bowl where he turned in a dominating performance last weekend. Bresee is currently enrolled at the Clemson University and will play for the Tigers this fall.

"Leadership, innovation and an indisputable drive to be the best are attributes that Bryce, Brian and Adidas share," said Shannon Ferbrache, Director of Grassroots Sports Marketing for Adidas. "We got to see the leadership and camaraderie that Bryce and Bryan shared with their teammates both on and off the field during the 2020 All American Bowl game and we are excited to these outstanding young men as the 2019 Maxwell High School Players of the Year presented by Adidas."

Young and Bresee join previous Maxwell Football Club National High School Players of the Year Bru McCoy (2018 Offense -Mater Dei - USC) Nolan Smith (2018 Defense - IMG Academy - Georgia), Trevor Lawrence (2017 Cartersville HS - Clemson) Taron Vincent (2017 IMG Academy - Ohio State), Tate Martell (2016 Bishop Gorman High School - Ohio State), Jacob Eason (2015 Lake Stevens High School - Georgia), Trenton Thompson (2014 Westover HS - Georgia), Will Grier (2013 Davidson Day School - West Virginia), Derrick Henry (2012 Yulee HS - Alabama), Noah Spence (2011 Bishop McDevitt HS - Ohio State), Jeff Driskel (2010 Hagerty HS - Florida), Sharif Floyd (2009 George Washington - Florida), Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin HS - Oklahoma) and DeVier Posey (2007 Cincinnati LaSalle - Ohio State).

Young and Bresee will be honored Friday, March 6, 2020 at the 83rd Maxwell Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. Also receiving awards at this event will be Joe Burrow - LSU (Maxwell Award), Chase Young - Ohio State (Chuck Bednarik Award). The Club will be announcing additional winners of professional awards and special awards later this week.

For more information, visit