Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

Florida Selected By Media To Win SEC Title

SEC Press Release
July 25, 2008

HOOVER, Ala. - The Florida Gators have been voted by the attending media at 2008 Southeastern Conference Football Media Days to capture the SEC football championship. The results were announced on the third and final day of the media days at the Wynfrey Hotel. The Gators were selected as Eastern Division champions while Auburn was selected to represent the Western Division.

Of the 70 members of the media who voted, Florida was named SEC Champion on 36 ballots, Georgia on 18, Auburn 13 and LSU, Tennessee and Ole Miss one each. In the Eastern Division, Florida had 45 first-place votes, Georgia (23) and Tennessee (2). The Gators, Bulldogs and Volunteers were selected 1-2-3 in the Eastern Division followed by South Carolina, Kentucky and Vanderbilt.

In the Western Division, Auburn was named first place on 48 ballots, while LSU received 21 first place votes and Ole Miss 1. The predicted order of finish in the Western Division was Auburn, LSU, Alabama, Mississippi State, Ole Miss and Arkansas.

2008 SEC Media Poll:

  Team Points
1. Florida (45) 98
2. Georgia (23) 121
3. Tennessee (2) 222
4. South Carolina 266
5. Kentucky 356
6. Vanderbilt 407
  Team Points
1. Auburn (48) 99
2. LSU (21) 120
3. Alabama 228
4. Mississippi State 299
5. Ole Miss (1) 338
6. Arkansas 386

Championship Game-Winner:
  Team Points
1. Florida 36
2. Georgia 18
3. LSU 1
(tie) Tennessee 1
(tie) Ole Miss 1


ADVERTISE - CONTACT - LEGAL is a proud partner of:

USA Today Sports Digital Properties