Home Season Preview Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Teams Bowls History Links News Message Board More...

College Football
Season Preview

2007 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team

Mountain West Conference Press Release
July 23, 2007

LAS VEGAS - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2007 preseason all-conference team today as selected by members of the league's media. Aaron Brown (TCU) was named Preseason MWC Offensive Player of the Year, Tommy Blake (TCU) was selected Preseason MWC Defensive Player of the Year, Louie Sakoda (Utah) was chosen Preseason MWC Special Teams Player of the Year and Ricky Brewer (Colorado State) was tabbed Preseason MWC Freshman of the Year.

Brown, a second-team all-MWC honoree last season and the 2005 MWC Freshman of the Year, rushed for 801 yards and a league-high nine touchdowns in 2006. Blake, a 2007 preseason All-American, was a first-team all-MWC selection on the defensive line a year ago after collecting 54 tackles while leading the league with 16.5 tackles for loss and seven sacks in 13 games played. Sakoda was a perfect 43-for-43 in point-after attempts last season and also ranked third in the league in field goal percentage while leading Utah in scoring with 91 points. Brewer was a first-team all-state selection after leading the state of Colorado with 156 tackles his senior year.

TCU led all schools with seven student-athletes selected to the preseason all-Conference team. BYU and Utah each had four players selected, followed by New Mexico and Wyoming with three apiece. Colorado State and UNLV each had two players chosen, while Air Force had one.

The 2007 preseason team features 16 players that were all-Conference selections in 2006, including eight first-team honorees.

Pos. Name School Class.
WR Travis Brown New Mexico Sr.
WR Ryan Wolfe UNLV So.
OL Sete Aulai BYU Sr.
OL Dallas Reynolds BYU Jr.
OL Matty Lindner TCU Sr.
OL Jason Boone Utah Sr.
OL Wade Betschart Wyoming Sr.
QB Brian Johnson Utah Jr.
RB Rodney Ferguson New Mexico Jr.
RB Aaron Brown TCU Jr.
DL Jesse Nading Colorado State Sr.
DL Tommy Blake TCU Sr.
DL Chase Ortiz TCU Sr.
DL/LB Beau Bell UNLV Sr.
DL/LB Ward Dobbs Wyoming Jr.
LB Drew Fowler Air Force Sr.
LB Bryan Kehl BYU Sr.
LB Jason Phillips TCU Jr.
DB Quinn Gooch BYU Sr.
DB DeAndre Wright New Mexico Jr.
DB Brian Bonner TCU Sr.
DB Julius Stinson Wyoming Sr.
Special Teams
P Jim Kaylor Colorado State Sr.
PK Louie Sakoda Utah Jr.
RET Brian Bonner TCU Sr.
Offensive Player Of The Year
RB Aaron Brown TCU Jr.
Defensive Player Of The Year
DL Tommy Blake TCU Sr.
Special Teams Player Of The Year
PK Louie Sakoda Utah Jr.
Freshman Of The Year
LB Ricky Brewer Colorado State Fr.


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"