Home Top 125 Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds PreGame PostGame Standings Bowls History Teams Links News Forum Season Preview More...


2012 Conference Realignment
May 21, 2012

The team rosters of seven conferences were affected by the latest round of realignment and the 2012 season will kick off with 8 teams in different leagues. Additionally, 4 teams are transitioning from the FCS to the FBS to increase the ranks of the Football Bowl Subdivision to 124 schools. None of the four new FBS entrants - Massachusetts, South Alabama, Texas State and UTSA (Texas-San Antonio) are eligible to receive a bowl bid or claim their respective conference's championship.

BIG 12
Loses (2): Missouri and Texas A&M to the SEC.
Welcomes (2): TCU from the Mountain West and West Virginia from the Big East.

Loses: (1) West Virginia to the Big 12.
Welcomes: (1) Temple from the MAC. (Temple was evicted from the Big East after the 2004 season and the Owls played in the MAC from 2005-2011).

Loses: (1) Temple to the Big East.
Welcomes: (1) UMass from the FCS.

Loses: (1) TCU to the Big 12.
Welcomes: (3) Fresno State, Hawaii and Nevada from the WAC. Increases its overall membership from 8 teams in 2011 to 10 schools in 2012.

Loses: (0)
Welcomes: (2) Missouri to the SEC East and Texas A&M to the SEC West. Increases its overall membership from 12 teams in 2011 to 14 schools in 2012.

Loses: (0)
Welcomes: (1) South Alabama from the FCS.

Loses: (3) Fresno State, Nevada and Hawaii to the Mountain West.
Welcomes: (2) Texas State and UTSA from the FCS. Decreases its overall membership from 8 teams in 2011 to 7 schools in 2012.