NFF Announces 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class

January 11, 2017 by Dave Congrove

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class, which includes the names of 10 First Team All-America players and three standout coaches. The inductees were selected from the national ballot of 75 All-America players and six elite coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision, and the 95 players and 29 coaches from the divisional ranks.'s Dave Congrove is a voting member. An * denotes those players/coaches for whom he voted.


Bob Crable – LB, Notre Dame (1978-81)
Marshall Faulk* – RB, San Diego State (1991-93)
Kirk Gibson – WR, Michigan State (1975-78)
Matt Leinart – QB, Southern California (2003-05)
Peyton Manning* – QB, Tennessee (1994-97)
Bob McKay – OT, Texas (1968-69)
Dat Nguyen – LB, Texas A&M (1995-98)
Adrian Peterson* – RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001)
Mike Ruth – NG, Boston College (1982-85)
Brian Urlacher* – DB, New Mexico (1996-99)


Danny Ford – 122-59-5 (66.9%); Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)
Larry Kehres – 332-24-3 (92.9%); Mount Union (Ohio) (1986-2012)
Steve Spurrier* – 228-89-2 (71.8%); Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class," said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments."