Finalists Announced for Bednarik, Mackey, Maxwell, O'Brien, Outland and Robinson Awards

November 23, 2010 by Dave Congrove

Note:'s Dave Congrove is either a voting member or nominating member of several awards, including the Outland Trophy and Eddie Robinson Awards.

Finalists have been announced for some of the nation's most prestigious individual awards.

Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year:
Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson University, DE, JR
Nick Fairley, Auburn University, DL, JR
Patrick Peterson, Louisiana State University, DB, JR

John Mackey Award for most outstanding top tight end:
Michael Egnew, Missouri, Jr.
Lance Kendricks, Wisconsin, Sr.
D.J. Williams, Arkansas, Sr.

Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year are:
Andrew Luck, Stanford University, QB, Sophomore
Kellen Moore, Boise State University, QB, JR
Cameron Newton, Auburn University, QB, JR

The Davey O'Brien finalists for top quarterback:
Andrew Luck, Stanford, So.
Kellen Moore, Boise State, Jr.
Cam Newton, Auburn, Jr.

Outland Trophy for top interior lineman:
Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin, OT
Rodney Hudson, Florida State, OG
Nate Solder, Colorado, OT

Eddie Robinson for top collegiate coach:
Bret Bielema, Wisconsin
Gene Chizik, Auburn
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
Jim Harbaugh, Stanford
Chip Kelly, Oregon
Gary Patterson, TCU
Chris Petersen, Boise State

The presentation of these awards will be featured on The ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.