Home Top 128 Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds PreGame PostGame Standings Bowls History Teams Links News Forum Season Preview More...


79 Teams, Plus 1 Conditionally, Eligible For 70 Bowl Slots

2013 Bowl Eligibility Requirements and Bowl Eligible Teams

As of games played through 12/14/13

To become eligible for postseason play in any FBS bowl game, a team must have a minimum 6 wins in a 12-game schedule, or 7 wins in a 13-game schedule, or be the champion of its conference, and not be on probation that specifically stipulates exclusion from postseason play. One win over a FCS team can count toward the win total each year provided the FCS team has supplied financial aid for football averaging out to at least 56.7 full scholarships (90% of the limit of 63 allowed to FCS schools) over "a rolling two-year period" that can include the current season.

Bowl games with contractual ties must select a team from that conference with seven wins, if one is available. If one is not available, a 6-win team from that conference is next-in-line.

Any berths not filled by a qualifying team from a contracted conference must fill that vacancy with a "spare" team that has 7 wins before any "spare" 6-6 team can be accommodated.

Achieving bowl eligibility does not guarantee a team will be slotted in a bowl game.

This team scheduled 3 FCS opponents this season, and are therefore required to achieve 8 total wins for bowl eligibility: Georgia State. But Georgia State also falls into "pool 5" below as outlined below.

These teams scheduled 2 FCS opponents this season, and are therefore required to achieve 7 total wins for bowl eligibility: Clemson, Georgia Tech. Colorado originally scheduled 1 FCS team, but had to replace Fresno State with another FCS opponent after flooding forced cancellation of that game.

These 2 teams scheduled 13 games, and are therefore required to achieve 7 total wins for bowl eligibility:
Colorado State and USC.

Beginning with 2012 bowl season, a new selection process will be followed only in the event that bowl-eligible teams in the Football Bowl Subdivision are exhausted.

The board was concerned that conferences and bowls could become overcommitted and not account for potential of bowl ineligibility due to factors beyond won-lost records, such as infractions penalties. Also, a new Academic Progress Rate postseason eligibility structure will take effect in the 2012-13 academic year, with a two-year implementation window before the benchmark moves from 900 to 930. For access to postseason competition in 2012-13 and 2013-14, teams must achieve a 900 multi-year APR or a 930 average over the most recent two years to be eligible.

If a bowl has one or more conferences/teams unable to meet their contractual commitments and there are no available bowl-eligible teams, the open spots can be filled – by the bowl sponsoring agencies – as follows:

  • First pool: Teams that finish 6-6 but would not normally be bowl eligible because they have a win against a Football Championship Subdivision team.
  • Second pool: A team that has a 6-6 record but beat two FCS teams.
  • Third pool: A team that finished with a 6-7 record, with the seventh loss being in a conference championship game.
  • Fourth pool: A team that played 13 games but finished with a 6-7 record.
  • Fifth pool: A team in the process of reclassifying to FBS football and has at least a 6-6 record.
  • Sixth pool:  Any top 5 APR team with a 5-7 record.

A bowl will be allowed to use the extra pools of teams only one time over a four-year period. The special provision ends after four years in order to encourage bowls and institutions/conferences to avoid over commitment. Currently, 35 bowls are available for Football Bowl Subdivision teams.

In other business, the Board:

  • Approved an additional game in the Football Bowl Subdivision to allow student-athletes to participate in a game between the winners of two exempted postseason bowl games.

x-clinched division
c-clinched conference
BCS-clinched bcs berth

ACC (11)
BCS-Florida State (13-0)
x-Duke (10-3)
Clemson (10-2)
Miami (Fla.) (9-3)
Virginia Tech (8-4)
Georgia Tech (7-5)
Boston College (7-5)
Maryland (7-5)
Syracuse (6-6)
North Carolina (6-6)
Pitt (6-6)

American Athletic Conference (5)
BCS-UCF (11-1)
Louisville (11-1)
Cincinnati (9-3)
Houston (8-4)
Rutgers (6-6)

Big 12 (6)
BCS-Baylor (11-1)
Oklahoma (10-2)
Oklahoma State (10-2)
Texas (8-4)
Kansas State (7-5)
Texas Tech (7-5)

Big Ten (7)
x-Ohio State (12-1)
BCS-Michigan State (12-1)
Wisconsin (9-3)
Iowa (8-4)
Nebraska (8-4)
Minnesota (8-4)
Michigan (7-5)
NOTE: Penn State is ineligible due to NCAA probation.

CUSA (7+1 conditional)
c-Rice (10-3)
x-Marshall (9-4)
East Carolina (9-3)
Middle Tennessee (8-4)
North Texas (8-4)
Tulane (7-5)
FAU (6-6) - interim head coach goes 4-0 after Pelini fired
#-UTSA (7-5)
NOTE: #-UTSA is in its final transition year from the FCS. It is eligible for the conference title, but is only bowl eligible under the "reclassification rules" set forth by the NCAA.

Independents (3)
Notre Dame (8-4)
Brigham Young (8-4)
Navy (8-4)

MAC (7)
c-Bowling Green (10-3)
x-Northern Illinois (12-1)
Ball State (10-2)
Buffalo (8-4)
Toledo (7-5)
Ohio (7-5)
Central Michigan (6-6)

Mountain West (7)
c-Fresno State (11-1)
x-Utah State (8-5)
San Diego State (7-5)
Boise State (8-4)
UNLV (7-5)
Colorado State (7-6)
San Jose State (6-6)

PAC-12 (9)
BCS-Stanford (11-2)
x-Arizona State (10-3)
Oregon (10-2)
UCLA (9-3)
USC (9-4)
Washington (8-4)
Arizona (7-5)
Oregon State (6-6)
Washington State (6-6)

SEC (10)
BCS-Auburn (12-1)
x-Missouri (11-2)
Alabama (11-1)
South Carolina (10-2)
Georgia (8-4)
LSU (9-3)
Texas A&M (8-4)
Vanderbilt (8-4)
Mississippi (7-5)
Mississippi State (6-6)

Sun Belt (7)
c-Louisiana-Lafayette (8-4)
c-Arkansas State (7-5)
Western Kentucky (8-4)
Troy (6-6)
Louisiana-Monroe (6-6)
South Alabama (6-6)
Texas State (6-6)


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"