Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 |

Another Trojan Wins Heisman

by Matt James
December 10, 2005

Reggie Bush became USC's seventh Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday night and third in the last four years. The multi-purpose player showed style and substance as he outshined Texas quarterback Vince Young and his own teammate, quarterback Matt Leinart. Leinart won the Heisman Trophy last year and Bush finished fifth.

The junior tailback ran for 1,658 yards and 15 touchdowns. He added 31 catches for 383 yards and 2 more scores. He also totaled 570 yards in kick-off and punt returns and 1 more TD. His 2,611 total yards topped his 2004 numbers when he tallied 2,181 all-purpose yards as he rushed for 833 yards and 6 scores, caught 41 passes for 478 yards and 7 TD's, added 870 yards returning kick-offs and punts with two punt return TD's and threw a 52-yard TD pass.

No wonder Bush received 784 first-place votes, second only in Heisman history to O.J. Simpson's 855 first-place votes in 1968. Simpson, of course, also played for USC.

Teammate Matt Leinart finished a distant third. The senior quarterback has thrown for 10,328 yards, 98 touchdowns and only 22 interceptions in his three-year career as the starter. He was 254-of-391 for 3,450 yards, 27 TD's and 7 INT's this past season.

Second-place finisher, sophomore quarterback Vince Young of Texas, completed 182-of-285 passes for 2,769 yards, 26 TD's and 10 INT's. He finished 933 points behind Bush in the balloting.

Notre Dame is the only other school to produce seven Heisman winners.

Each voter gets to submit a ballot that ranks their top three players. Points are tallied by awarding 3 points for each first-place vote, two points for second, and one point for third. There were 923 eligible voters this year.

Reggis Bush Jr. USC TB 784 89 11 2,541
Vince Young Jr. Texas QB 79 613 145 1,608
Matt Leinart Sr. USC QB 18 147 449 797
Brady Quinn Jr. Notre Dame QB 7 21 128 191
Michael Robinson Sr. Penn State QB 2 7 29 49
A.J. Hawk Sr. Ohio State LB 0 3 23 29
DeAngelo Williams Sr. Memphis RB 1 2 19 26
Drew Olson Sr. UCLA QB 1 2 14 21
Jerome Harrison Sr. Washington St. RB 0 4 12 20
Elvis Dumervil Sr. Louisville DE 0 0 9 9

Also See: All-Time Heisman List



AP Coach Of the Year: Joe Paterno, Penn State

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Joe Paterno, Penn State

AP Player Of the Year: Reggie Bush, RB, USC

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Paul Posluszny, LB, Penn State
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Mike Hass, Oregon State
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): Paul Posluszny, Penn State
See: All-Time Dick Butkus Award Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Reggie Bush, RB, USC
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Alexis Serna , Oregon State
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): A.J. Hawk, Ohio State
See: All-Time Vince Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Marcedes Lewis, UCLA
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Vince Young, QB, Texas
See: All-Time Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Elvis Dumerville, Louisville, DE
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Vince Young, QB, Texas
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Greg Eslinger, C, Minnesota
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): Greg Eslinger, Minnesota
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Michael Huff, Texas
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Matt Leinart, USC
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Reggie Bush, RB, USC
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners


ADVERTISE - CONTACT - LEGAL is a proud partner of:

USA Today Sports Digital Properties