Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 |

Heisman Won By A QB For 4th Straight Year

by Matt James

A quarterback who almost quit football more than a year ago won the Heisman Trophy, the final exclamation point on his rehabilitation from a second knee injury that nearly ended his career.

Oklahoma's Jason White, who threw 40 touchdown passes against just 8 interceptions, outpointed Pittsburgh sophomore wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald to become the fourth straight quarterback to capture college football's most-coveted individual honor. Three signal-callers won the trophy in succession from 1962-1964.

White received 1,481 total points in the balloting to Fitzgerald's 1,353. Mississippi quarterback Eli Manning was third with 710. Michigan running back Chris Perry was fourth with 341 points.

No Sooner had won the award since Billy Simms took home the hardware in 1978. Oklahoma running backs Billy Vessels and Steve Owens won the trophy in 1952 and 1969, respectively.

Each voter gets to submit a ballot that ranks their top three players. Points are tallied by awarding 3 points for each first-place vote, two points for second, and one point for third.

Here is the breakdown of that voting:

Jason White Sr. Oklahoma QB 319 204 116 1,481
Larry Fitzgerald So. Pittsburgh WR 253 233 128 1,353
Eli Manning Sr. Mississippi QB 95 132 161 710
Chris Perry Sr. Michigan RB 27 66 128 341
Darren Sproles Jr. Kansas State RB 15 30 29 134
Matt Leinart So. USC QB 5 27 58 127
Philip Rivers Sr. N. C. State QB 18 20 24 118
Mike Williams So. USC WR 12 12 18 78
Ben Roethlisberger Jr. Miami, Ohio QB 5 9 14 47
B. J. Symons Sr. Texas Tech QB 1 7 21 38


1) Jason White (Sr.), QB, Oklahoma
Season Stats:
265-of-414 for 3,738 yards, 40 TDs, 8 INTs
Points: 1,481

2) Larry Fitzgerald (So.), WR, Pittsburgh
Season Stats:
87 catches, 1,595 yards, 22 TDs. Had NCAA record streak of 18 straight games with at least one touchdown catch.
Points: 1,353

3) Eli Manning (Sr.), QB, Mississippi
Season Stats:
253-of-400, 3,340 yards, 27 TDs, 9 INTs
Points: 710

4) Chris Perry (Sr.), RB, Michigan
Season Stats:
315 carries for 1,589 yards, 17 TDs
Points: 341

Also See: All-Time Heisman List



AP Coach Of the Year: Nick Saban, LSU

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Pete Carroll, USC

AP Player Of the Year: Jason White, Oklahoma

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Dick Butkus Award-Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Jonathan Nichols, Mississippi
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): BJ Sander, Ohio State
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): Tommie Harris, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Vince Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Kellen Winslow, Miami, Fla.
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Eli Manning, Mississippi
See: All-Time Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Derrick Strait, Oklahoma, DB
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Jason White, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Robert Gallery, Iowa
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): Jake Grove, Virginia Tech
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Derrick Strait, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Eli Manning, Mississippi
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Chris Perry, Michigan
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners


ADVERTISE - CONTACT - LEGAL is a proud partner of:

USA Today Sports Digital Properties