Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 |

Palmer Wins Heisman Trophy By Healthy Margin Over Banks

by Matt James

The winner of the 2002 Heisman Trophy was a surprise to many observers. The margin by which he won, however, was almost shocking.

Carson Palmer, USC quarterback, received 242 first-place votes and beat Iowa quarterback Brad Banks by 233 points. Penn State running back Larry Johnson finished third, Miami running back Willis McGahee was fourth, and Miami quarterback Ken Dorsey came in fifth.

Each voter gets to submit a ballot that ranks their top three players. Points are tallied by awarding 3 points for each first-place vote, two points for second, and one point for third.

There were 921 ballots sent out and 811 (88 percent) were returned. Palmer was ranked in the top three on 620 (76.4%) of the returned ballots.

Palmer is the fifth Heisman Trophy winner from USC and the first Trojan quarterback to receive college football's highest individual achievement honor. All the other Trojan winners were running backs. Marcus Allen (1981), Charles White (1979), O.J. Simpson (1968) and Mike Garrett (1965). USC now has the third most winners, behind Notre Dame with seven and Ohio State with six.

Marshall quarterback Byron Leftwich was sixth, Washington State quarterback Jason Gesser took seventh, Colorado running back Chris Brown finished eighth, Texas Tech quarterback Kliff Kingsbury came in ninth, and Oklahoma running back Quentin Griffin rounded out the top ten.



1) Carson Palmer (Sr.), QB, USC
Season Stats:
288-of-458 for 3,639 yards, 32 TDs, 10 INTs
Points: 1,328

2) Brad Banks (Sr.), QB, Iowa
Season Stats:
155-of 258 for 2,369 yards, 25 TDs, 4 INTs. 74 rushes for 399 yards and 5 TDs rushing.
Points: 1,095

3) Larry Johnson (Sr.), RB, Penn State
Season Stats:
251 rushes for 2,015 yards and 20 TDs rushing, 39 catches for 341 yards and 3 TDs, 219 on kick returns.
Points: 726

4) Willis McGahee (So.), RB, Miami
Season Stats:
262 rushes for 1,686 yards, 27 TDs for the season. Also caught 24 passes for 350 yards and 0 TDs.
Points: 660

5) Ken Dorsey (Sr.), QB, Miami
Season Stats:
194-of-350 for for 3,073 yards, 26 TDs, 10 INTs
Points: 643

Also See: All-Time Heisman List



AP Player Of the Year: Brad Banks, Iowa

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): E. J. Henderson, Maryland
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Charles Rogers, Michigan State
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): E. J. Henderson, Maryland
See: All-Time Dick Butkus Award-Winners

Walter Camp (top player): Larry Johnson, Penn State
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Nate Kaeding, Iowa
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): Mark Mariscal, Colorado
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
See: All-Time Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Dallas Clark, Iowa
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Larry Johnson, Penn State
See: All-Time Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Terrell Suggs, Arizona State, DB
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Brad Banks, Iowa
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Rien Long, Washington State
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): Brett Romberg, Miami (FL)
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Terence Newman, Kansas State
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Carson Palmer, USC
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Larry Johnson, Penn State
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Ty Willingham, Notre Dame


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"