Ray Guy Award Announces Final Candidate List for 2019 Season

November 6, 2019 by Ray Guy Award Press Release

NOTE: CollegeFootballPoll.com's Dave Congrove is a voter for the Ray Guy Award

The Augusta Sports Council and the Ray Guy Award are pleased to announce the final candidate list for the 2019 season. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation's top FBS collegiate punter at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN every year in December. Candidates on our 2019 list were nominated for the award by their school's Sports Information Directors (SIDs).

The following list will be narrowed down to ten semifinalists to be announced on Tuesday, November 19th. Following the announcement, a national voting body of FBS SIDs, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the three finalists who will be identified on Monday, November 25th. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner. The 2019 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12th.

Complete Watch List for 2019

Adam Korsak, Rutgers
Adam Williams, Memphis
Alex Kinney, Colorado
Aidan Alves, Liberty
Andrew Osteen, UCF
Anthony Lotti, Wisconsin
Arryn Sipposs, Auburn
Austin McNamara, Texas Tech
Bailey Cate, Old Dominion
Bailey Flint, Toledo
Ben Griffiths, USC
Ben Lennon, Utah
Blake Cusick, Fresno State
Blake Gillikin, Penn State
Blake Hayes, Illinois
Blake Maimone, Oregon
Braden Mann, Texas A&M
Brandon Heicklen, San Diego State
Brandon Wright, Georgia State
Cody Grace, Arkansas State
Dane Roy, Houston
Daniel Rodriguez, Oregon State
Devin Anctil, Kansas State
Dom Maggio, Wake Forest
Drue Chrisman, Ohio State
Evan Finegan, Buffalo
Harrison Smith, Vanderbilt
Haydon Whitehead, Indiana
Isaac Armstrong, Nebraska
Jake Hartbarger, Michigan State
Jake Julien, Eastern Michigan
Jake Oldroyd, BYU
James Smith, Cincinnati
Jared Porter, ULM
Joe Doyle, Tennessee 
Joel Whitford, Washington
John Haggerty, WKU
Jonn Young, East Carolina
Joseph Charlton, South Carolina
Josh Growden, West Virginia
Kirk Christodoulou, Pittsburgh
Kyle Greenwell, UAB
Kyle Kramer, Miami (Ohio)
Kyle Thompson, Kansas
Lou Hedley, Miami
Lucas Dean, UTSA
Luke Magliozzi, UConn 
Mac Brown, Ole Miss
Mason King, Louisville
Matt Naranjo, Bowling Green
Max Duffy, Kentucky
Michael Farkas, Ohio
Michael Sleep-Dalton, Iowa
Michael Turk, Arizona State
Myles Prosser, Coastal Carolina
Oscar Bradburn, Virginia Tech
Oscar Draguicevich III, Washington State
Owen White, Navy
Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech
Quinton Conaway, Nevada
Rhys Byrns, Louisiana
Ryan Bujcevski, Texas
Ryan Sanborn, Stanford
Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State
Ryan Wright,Tulane
Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse
Steven Coutts, California
Thomas Bennett, Tulsa
Tommy Heatherly, FIU
Tommy Townsend, Florida
Trent Schneider, USF
Trenton Gill, NC State
Tucker McCann, Missouri
Tyson Dyer, New Mexico
Wade Lees, UCLA
Will Hart, Michigan
Xavier Subotsch, App State
Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU

Ray Guy Award Timeline

Tuesday, November 19 - Semifinalists Announced
Monday, November 25 - Three Finalists Announced
Thursday, December 12 - The Home Depot College Football Awards Show (Atlanta, GA)
January 2020 - Football Banquet (Augusta, GA)

About the Ray Guy Award

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team's success.

About the Augusta Sports Council

The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) enriches the quality of life and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more, visit the Augusta Sports Council website.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 22 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org