24 New Head Coaches, Including 12 First-Timers at FBS Level, Find New Challenges Amid Covid-19 Pandemic

April 5, 2020 by CollegeFootballPoll.com Staff

It is always a challenge for a new head coach to begin a tenure in his new post. But the Covid-19 pandemic leaves new head coaches having to deal with a whole new universe. Especially the twelve first-time head coaches at the FBS level.

Here is the list of this year's new head coaches having to meet the new challenges.

Team 2019 Coach (Record) 2020 Coach (Record)
Appalachian State Eliah Drinkwitz (12-1), Shawn Clark (1-0) Shawn Clark
Arkansas Chad Morris (2-8), I Barry Lunney Jr. (0-2) Sam Pittman
Baylor Matt Rhule (11-3) Dave Aranda
Boston College Steve Addazio (6-6), B Rich Gunnell (0-1) Jeff Hafley
Colorado Mel Tucker (5-7) Karl Dorrell
Colorado State Mike Bobo (4-8) Steve Addazio
Florida Atlantic Lane Kiffin (10-3), B Glenn Spencer (1-0) Willie Taggart
Florida State Willie Taggart (4-5), I Odell Haggins (2-2) Mike Norvell
Fresno State Jeff Tedford (4-8) Kalen DeBoer
Hawaii Nick Rolovich (10-5) Todd Graham
Memphis Mike Norvell (12-2) Ryan Silverfield
Michigan State Mark Dantonio (7-6) Mel Tucker
Mississippi Matt Luke (4-8) Lane Kiffin
Mississippi State Joe Moorehead (6-7) Mike Leach
Missouri Barry Odom (6-6) Eliah Drinkwitz
Nevada-Las Vegas Tony Sanchez (4-8) Marcus Arroyo
New Mexico Bob Davie (2-10) Danny Gonzales
Old Dominion Bobby Wilder (1-11) Ricky Rahne
Rutgers Chris Ash (1-3), I Nunzio Campanile (1-7) Greg Schiano
San Diego State Rocky Long (10-3) Brady Hoke
USF Charlie Strong (4-8) Jeff Scott
UTSA Frank Wilson (4-8) Jeff Traylor
Washington Chris Petersen (8-5) Jimmy Lake
Washington State Mike Leach (6-7) Nick Rolovich

Karl Dorrell was named the head football coach for Colorado on Sunday (February 23). On March 11, the school cancelled classes for the rest of the semester. Check out www.casinojoka.com/fr.

Dorrell replaces Mel Tucker who resigned on February 11 to fill the same position at Michigan State which became available when Mark Dantonio stepped down on February 4. Michigan State shut down on March 14.

Tucker had just one year under his belt at Colorado. Dorrell had spent all but one of the previous 12 seasons in the NFL, mostly coaching wide receivers.

Even those head coaches with vast experience at other programs are trying to navigate a dearth of new issues related to the changes and unknowns as the world tries to stem the spread, and ultimately defeat the common enemy.

Hawaii on January 21 announced it had hired Todd Graham as head coach. He replaces Nick Rolovich who left to fill the same position at Washington State that became available when Mike Leach was lured away by Mississippi State. Graham has 12 years of head coaching experience, including six years at Arizona State in his last gig. Here are top payout online casinos.

Washington State named Rolovich as the new head coach on January 14, 5 days after Leach left for Starkville.

Baylor on January 16 named Dave Aranda as its news head coach. The LSU defensive coordinator replaces Matt Rhule who moved to the NFL's Carolina Panthers. The NFL is about to conduct its annual draft via teleconferencing.

Joining Aranda as first-time head coaches at the FBS level this season are Marcus Aroyo at UNLV, Danny Gonzalez at New Mexico, Kalen DeBoer at Fresno State, Ryan Silverfield at Memphis, Jeff Hafley at Boston College, Shawn Clark at Appalachian State, Jeff Scott at USF, Ricky Rahne at Old Dominion, Jeff Traylor at UTSA, Sam Pittman at Arkansas, and Jimmy Lake at Washington.