2022 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

July 27, 2022 by Courtesy rayguyaward.com

NOTE: CollegeFootballPoll.com's Dave Congrove is a voting member of the Ray Guy Award.

Augusta, GA (July 27, 2022) - The Augusta Sports Council is pleased to announce the pre-season watch list for the 2022 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter in the FBS.

The 48 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. The 2022 watch list was compiled based on the 2021 Ray Guy Award Semifinalist List, the top ten NCAA Punters from 2021, the 2021 All-Conference teams, the 2021 All-American Teams, the 2022 pre-season All-Conference Teams and eligible punters on the 2021 watchlist.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens nominations on July 28. The complete list of candidates will be released on November 2nd. In mid-November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on November 8th. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced on November 18th. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN in December 2022.

2022 Preseason Watchlist

Adam Korsak Rutgers
Alex Mastromanno Florida State
Andrew Osteen UCF
Andy Vujnovich Wisconsin
Anthony Beck II Georgia Southern
Austin McNamara Texas Tech
Ben Kiernan North Carolina
Bernardo Rodriguez North Texas
Brad Robbins Michigan
Brendan Hall SMU
Brian Buschini Nebraska
Bryce Baringer Michigan State
Colin Goodfellow Kentucky
Dom Dzioban Miami (OH)
Ethan Duane Old Dominion
Issac Power Baylor
Ivan Mora Wake Forest
Jack Brooks South Alabama
Jacob Barnes Louisiana Tech
Jamieson Sheahan Cal
Jay Bramblett LSU
Joe Doyle Memphis
Jordy Sandy TCU
Kai Kroeger South Carolina
Kyle Greenwell UAB
Kyle Ostendorp  Arizona
Kyle Ulbrich Middle Tennessee
Lachlan Wilson Tulsa
Laine Wilkins Houston
Lou Hedley Miami
Lucas Dean  UTSA
Luke Elzinga Central Michigan
Mason Hunt Southern Miss
Matthew Hayball Vanderbilt
Michael Turk Oklahoma
Nick Mihalic Western Michigan
Nik Constantinou Texas A&M
Paxton Brooks Tennessee
Porter Wilson Duke
Reid Bauer Arkansas
Rhys Byrns Louosiana-Lafayette
Ryan Hanson Arkansas State
Ryan Rehkow BYU
Ryan Sanborn Stanford
Stephen Kotsanlee Utah State
Tom Hutton Oklahoma State
Tory Taylor Iowa
Ty Zentner Kansas State

About the Ray Guy Award

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team's success.

About the Augusta Sports Council

The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) enriches the quality of life and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more, visit RayGuyAward.com.

Following are the remaining 2022 preseason watch list release dates:

Thurs., July 28: Paul Hornung Award / Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., July 29: Walter Camp Award
Mon., Aug. 1: Bednarik Award