2020 CollegeFootballPoll.com All-America Team

December 28, 2020 by Staff

CollegeFootballPoll.com's 12th annual College Football All-America team honors 25 top players representing 20 different teams and 8 different conferences. One player is selected for each position on an 11-man offensive roster, an 11-man defensive roster, plus three special team members (kicker, punter, return specialist).

Quarterback Kyle Trask (Heisman finalist) of Florida leads the offense selections. Though his team faltered down the stretch with season-ending losses to LSU and Alabama (SEC Championship game), Trask led the nation in passing yards per game (375), touchdown passes (43), total passing yards (4,125), and completions (285). Your search for the best online casinos is finally over, thanks to casinosonlinecanada.

If the All-American offensive team took the field, Trask would hand off to Buffalo's Jaret Patterson and Iowa State's Breece Hall (Doak Walker finalist), and throw to all three Biletnikoff finalists including his own Kyle Pitts Alabama's DeVonta Smith, and Mississippi's Elijah Moore.

Patterson posted eye-popping back-to-back games of 301 yards and 4 TD's vs. Bowling Green, followed by 409 yards and 8 TD's vs. Kent State. He topped the 1,000-yard mark in 5 games and finished with 1,072 yards in six games.

Hall was 7th nationally in yards per game with 130.55 yards per game, but tied for second with 19 touchdowns.  He began the season with 8 consecutive 100-yard games. In two games versus Oklahoma, he compiled 218 yards and 4 TD's.

Pitts played just 8 games and had only 770 receiving yards. But after sitting out the Arkansas, Vanderbilt and LSU games he returned for a season-ending 7-catch, 129-yard, 1 TD performance versus Alabama in a 52-46 loss in the SEC Championship clash.

In that same SEC title game, Alabama's Smith had 15 catches for 184 yards and 2 TD's to complete the season with 1,511 yards and 17 touchdowns.

For Ole Miss, Moore topped the nation with 149.1 yards per game and finished with 1,193 yards in 8 games. He opted out of playing in the season finale vs. LSU, a move that wouldn't normally sit well with us but was oft-repeated this season under the added concerns of Covid. Several players who received preseason All-American honors by multiple magazines would ultimately opt to sit out the entire season.

Protecting Trask would be an offensive line consisting of Rimington Trophy (top center) finalist Landon Dickerson of Alabama, Outland Trophy (interior lineman) co-finalists Alex Leatherwood of Alabama and Liam Eichenberger of Notre Dame, along with Tennessee's Trey Smith.

Return specialist Khalil Herbert of Virginia Tech had 430 kick return yards, 180 punt returns yards in limited duty, and topped the nation with 1,791 yards total yards. All that, despite missing 1 game completely and seeing limited action in two others with a strained hamstring. It's like the best online slots real money.

Other special team members are punter Pressley Harvin III of Georgia Tech and Placekicker Nick Sciba of Wake Forest.

The defensive All-American selections would almost surely post several shutouts, with 4 of the 11 members hailing from Group of Five conferences. The defensive line selections include Nick Ezidore of Texas State (66 tackles, 13 for loss), and DeAngelo Malone of Western Kentucky (71 total tackles, 6 sacks). They are joined by Pittsburgh's Rashad Weaver (14.5 TFL,s with 7.5 sacks, and 3 forced fumbles) and Wake Forest's Carlos Basham, a projected first-round NFL draft pick who missed two of his team's 8 games and still posted 5 sacks and 28 tackles.

WKU's Malone is the lone repeat from last year's A-A team.

The linebacker corps is comprised of Colorado's Nate Landman (10.6 tackles per game, 1.8 TFl's per game, 0.8 sacks per game), along with Jahad Woods of Washington State (7.75 tackles per game, plus an INT, and a forced fumble), and Justin Rice of Arkansas State (18.5 TFL's with 7 sacks and 57 solo tackles).

The defensive backs are Virginia Tech's Chamarri Conner (81 tackles, 2 PD's, 4 INT's), Michigan State's Shakur Brown (25 tackles, 5 INT, 12 PD's in 5 games), Keith Gallmon of South Alabama (10 PBU's and 11 PD's), and Jaylin Williams of Indiana (1 INT in 4 different games out of 6 total games played).

CollegeFootballPoll.com is proud to present this roster of All-Americans for 2020.

Position Player Name School
Quarterback: Kyle Trask Florida
Running Backs: Jaret Patterson Buffalo
  Breece Hall Iowa State
Wide Receivers: Elijah Moore Ole Miss
  DeVonta Smith Alabama
Tight End: Kyle Pitts Florida
Linemen: Landon Dickerson Alabama
  Alex Leatherwood Alabama
  Liam Eichenberg Notre Dame
  Wyatt Davis Ohio State
  Trey Smith Tennessee
Linemen: Nico Ezidore Texas State
  DeAngelo Malone Western Kentucky
  Rashad Weaver Pittsburgh
  Carlos Basham Wake Forest
Linebackers: Nate Landman Colorado
  Jahad Woods Washington State
  Justin Rice Arkansas State
Defensive Backs: Chamarri Conner Virginia Tech
  Shakur Brown Michigan State
  Keith Gallmon South Alabama
  Jaylin Williams Indiana
Punter: Pressley Harvin, III Georgia Tech
Place-kicker: Nick Sciba Wake Forest
Returner: Khalil Hebert Virginia Tech

All-America selections by conference:
SEC - 7
ACC - 7
Big Ten - 3
Sun Belt - 3
PAC-12 - 2
Big 12 - 1
CUSA - 1
MAC - 1
American - 0
Independents - 0
MWC - 0           

All-American selections by team:
Alabama - 3
Florida - 2
Virginia Tech - 2
Wake Forest - 2
Arkansas State - 1
Buffalo - 1
Colorado - 1
Georgia Tech - 1
Indiana - 1
Iowa State - 1
Michigan State - 1
Notre Dame - 1
Ohio State - 1
Ole Miss - 1
Pittsburgh - 1
South Alabama - 1
Tennessee - 1
Texas State - 1
Washington State - 1
Western Kentucky - 1

The committee is headed by Dave Congrove, owner/operator of the website and a member of the Football Writers Association of America.

Mr. Congrove is also a:
Member National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame
Member Maxwell Football Club
Member International Football Researchers Association
Voter FWAA-NFF Super 16 Football Poll
Voter College Football Hall Of Fame
Voter Fred Biletnikoff Award
Voter Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
Voter Ray Guy Award
Voter Bednarik Award
Voter Maxwell Award
Voter Lou Groza Award
Voter George Munger Award
Voter NFL Bert Bell Player of the Year Award
Voter NFL Greasy Neale Coach of the Year Award
Nominating member Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Nominating member Outland Trophy
Nominating member FWAA All-America Team.

Congrove is the creator of the Congrove Computer Rankings (CCR Top 130).