Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

Also See:
All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners

2013 Doak Walker Award Watch List

July 18, 2013

For more information, go to the Doak Walker Award official website.

DALLAS, TEXAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday the preseason candidates fort he 2013 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top running back.

The field of candidates is highlighted by Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey, who led the nation with 1,929 rushing yards last season. Other nominees include 2012 Doak Walker Award semifinalists David Fluellen (Toledo) and Venric Mark (Northwestern).

Nominations for the award will be accepted through October with the finalists announced on Nov. 25. The winner will be announced on Dec. 12.

Player School Class   Player School Class
Ameer Abdullah Nebraska JR   Tre Mason Auburn JR
Michael Alisa BYU SR   Lyle McCombs Connecticut JR
Antonio Andrews Western Kentucky SR   Adam Muema San Diego State JR
Dri Archer Kent State SR   David Oku Arkansas State SR
Brendan Bigelow California JR   Branden Oliver Buffalo SR
Beau Blankenship Ohio SR   Jordan Parker Middle Tennessee SO
Alfred Blue LSU SR   LaDarius Perkins Mississippi State SR
Dominique Brown Louisville JR   Senorise Perry Louisville SR
Ka’Deem Carey Arizona JR   Christian Powell Colorado SO
B.J. Catalon TCU SO   Darrin Reaves UAB JR
Orleans Darkwa Tulane SR   Silas Redd Southern California SR
Kenneth Dixon Louisiana Tech SO   Bishop Sankey Washington JR
Trayion Durham Kent State JR   Lache Seastrunk Baylor JR
Jahwan Edwards Ball State JR   David Sims Georgia Tech SR
David Fluellen Toledo SR   James Sims Kansas SR
D.J. Foster Arizona State SO   Kiero Small Arkansas SR
Melvin Gordon Wisconsin SO   Jeremy Smith Oklahoma State SR
Marion Grice Arizona State SR   Jerome Smith Syracuse JR
Todd Gurley Georgia SO   De’Anthony Thomas Oregon JR
Joe Hill Utah State JR   Zurlon Tipton Central Michigan SR
John Hubert Kansas State SR   Trey Watts Tulsa SR
Carlos Hyde Ohio State SR   Mark Weisman Iowa JR
Waymon James TCU SR   James White Iowa State SR
Duke Johnson Miami (Fla.) SO   James White Wisconsin SR
Storm Johnson UCF JR   Andre Williams Boston College SR
Matt Jones Florida SO   Damien Williams Oklahoma SR
Henry Josey Missouri JR   Jamaal Williams BYU SO
Ben Malena Texas A&M SR   Jonathan Williams Arkansas SR
Raymond Maples Army SR   Storm Woods Oregon State SO
Venric Mark Northwestern SR   T.J. Yeldon Alabama SO
Keith Marshall Georgia SO   Zach Zwinak Penn State JR
Glasco Martin Baylor SR        
Complete list of Doak Walker Award winners


The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 14, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 25. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on December 2 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2012 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2014.

The award, in its 24th year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.


is a proud
"Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties"