Home Top 128 Season Preview Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Bowls History Teams News Forum More...

College Football
Season Preview

Also See:
All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

2013 John Mackey Award Watch List Released

Released July 9, 2013

New York, N.Y. - The John Mackey Award has released the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2013 John Mackey recipient will be presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 14, 2013, the 2013 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers, Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Rory Anderson South Carolina Junior
Alex Bayer Bowling Green Senior
Ted Bolser Indiana Senior
Kyle Carter Penn State Sophomore
Gerald Christian Louisville Junior
Chris Coyle Arizona State Senior
Nexon Dorvilus FAU Senior
Eric Ebron North Carolina Junior
Zane Fakes Ball State Senior
C.J. Fiedorowicz Iowa Senior
Kaneakua Friel BYU Senior
Devin Funchess Michigan Sophomore
Crockett Gilmore Colorado State Senior
Xavier Grimble USC Junior
Jeff Heuerman Ohio State Junior
Gabe Holmes Purdue Senior
Gator Hoskins Marshall Senior
Marcel Jensen Fresno State Senior
Malcolm Johnson Mississippi State Junior
Luke Kaumatule Stanford Sophomore
Ben Koyack Notre Dame Junior
Gabe Linehan Boise State Senior
Colt Lyerla Oregon Junior
Arthur Lynch Georgia Senior
Jake McGee Virginia Junior
Jake Murphy Utah Junior
Jordan Najvar Baylor Senior
Troy Niklas Notre Dame Junior
Nick O'Leary Florida State Junior
Jacob Pedersen Wisconsin Senior
Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington Junior
Randall Telfer USC Junior
C.J. Uzomah Auburn Junior
Brian Vogler Alabama Junior
Beckett Wales Syracuse Senior
Clive Walford Miami (Fla.) Junior
Asa Watson N.C. State Senior



is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"