Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

Also See:
All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

2013 Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

List features 34 players vying for best college QB award

July 17, 2013

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List today.

The list features 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.

The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State) join five 2012 semifinalists on the Watch List: Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12.

The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Player School Class   Player School Class
David Ash Texas JR   Johnny Manziel Texas A&M SO
Blake Bortles UCF JR   Marcus Mariota Oregon SO
Tajh Boyd Clemson SR   Taylor Martinez Nebraska SR
Teddy Bridgewater Louisville JR   AJ McCarron Alabama SR
Terrance Broadway La.-Lafayette JR   Braxton Miller Ohio State JR
Kolton Browning La.-Monroe SR   Stephen Morris Miami (Fla.) SR
Derek Carr Fresno State SR   Aaron Murray Georgia SR
Rakeem Cato Marshall JR   Casey Pachall TCU SR
Cody Fajardo Nevada JR   Keith Price Washington SR
David Fales San Jose State SR   Bryn Renner North Carolina SR
James Franklin Missouri SR   Keenan Reynolds Navy SO
Devin Gardner Michigan JR   Tyler Russell Mississippi State SR
Kevin Hogan Stanford JR   Connor Shaw South Carolina SR
Brett Hundley UCLA SO   Tyler Tettleton Ohio SR
Chuckie Keeton Utah State JR   Logan Thomas Virginia Tech SR
Taylor Kelly Arizona State JR   Bo Wallace Mississippi JR
Jordan Lynch Northern Illinois SR   Keith Wenning Ball State SR

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The Davey O’Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,


is a proud
"Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties"