Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

Also See:
All-Time Chuck Bednarik Winners

2011 Bednarik Award Watch List

July 5, 2011

The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch list for the 17th annual Bednarik Award.

A former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, Chuck Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of ‘69 and the NFL Hall of Fame’s Class of ‘67.

As always, the watch list incorporates a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. The Bednarik Award watch list features just three of last season’s semifinalists, Florida State DE Brandon Jenkins, Boston College LB Luke Kuechly, and Notre Dame LB Manti Te’o.

The 2010 Bednarik Award winner, LSU CB Patrick Peterson, left school early following his junior season. Peterson was taken fifth in the first round of the NFL draft by the Arizona Cardinals.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced October 31st and the three finalists will be unveiled November 21st. The winner of the 2011 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 8th. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2nd 2012.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2011 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches, and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

The Chuck Bednarik Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagles great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69’ and the NFL Hall of Fame 67’. For more information, go to the official website of the Maxwell Football Club which oversees the Bednarik Award.

2011 Bednarik Award Watch List


is a proud
"Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties"