Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

Florida Selected By Media As Near-Unanimous Choice To Repeat As SEC Champs

SEC Press Release
July 24, 2009

HOOVER, Ala. -- The Florida Gators have been voted by the attending media at the 2009 Southeastern Conference Football Media Days to reapeat as SEC football champions. All 64 voters selected the Gators as Eastern Division champs, and 63 voters selected Florida as the overall conference champion.

Ole Miss was the only other team to receive a conference championship vote, though Alabama received the most votes for Western Division champion and LSU was 2nd. The Rebels finished 3rd in the division.

Filling out the votes in the Western Division, Arkansas fourth, Auburn fifth and Mississippi State sixth.

Filling out the Eastern Division, Georgia was predicted to finish second, South Carolina third, Tennessee fourth, Vanderbilt fifth and Kentucky sixth.

Florida is the first team to be a unanimous selection to a division since the league started divisional play in 1992. Alabama had 33 first place votes in the Western Division, while Ole Miss had 16 and LSU had 15.

2009 SEC Media Poll: (Teams receive 1 pt. for 1st place, 2 pts. for 2nd, etc.)

  Team Points
1. Florida (64) 64
2. Georgia 133
3. South Carolina 217
4. Tennessee 258
5. Vanderbilt 317
6. Kentucky 355
  Team Points
1. Alabama (33) 109
2. LSU (15) 145
3. Ole Miss (16) 149
4. Arkansas 245
5. Auburn 309
6. Mississippi State 387

Championship Game-Winner:

  Team Points
1. Florida 63
2. Ole Miss 1


is a proud
"Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties"