Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

SEC Coaches Preseason All-Conference Team Announced

LSU and Florida lead with double figure selections
SEC Press Release
July 21, 2008

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The LSU Tigers led all teams with 14 players selected to the 2008 Southeastern Conference Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team, announced today.

Florida was the only other SEC team with double figure selections with ten. There were first, second and third-teams selected for this year's coaches pre-season squad.

Georgia had nine players selected to the three squads followed by Alabama, Auburn and South Carolina with eight and Tennessee had seven. Kentucky had five selections while Ole Miss and Mississippi State had four each, Arkansas had three and Vanderbilt had two.

Florida led all schools with five first-team selections followed by LSU and Tennessee with four each. Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Ole Miss and South Carolina each had two players selected to the first-team while Arkansas, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt each had one first-team selection.

Eleven of the 12 SEC teams had first-team selections and every conference school has representatives on the All-SEC squad.

There were seven unanimous first-team selections to the squad. The group includes a quartet of offensive linemen – Alabama's Andre Smith, Arkansas Jonathan Luigs, Ole Miss' Michael Oher and Tennessee's Anthony Parker. Other unanimous choices were Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno, Ole Miss defensive lineman Greg Hardy and Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes. Since coaches cannot vote for their own players, unanimous choices were listed on 11 of the 12 ballots.

Of the 81 student-athletes named to the first, second and third teams, six are sophomores, 35 are juniors and 40 are seniors.

Ole Miss offensive lineman Michael Oher, Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs and Mississippi State defensive back Derek Pegues were repeat first-team selections from the 2007 Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team.

This is the fifth year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team. It is released in advance of the 2008 SEC Football Media Days, which will be held July 23-25, at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala. Media in attendance at SEC Football Media Days will vote on the All-SEC Team and a predicted order of finish for the league.

The entire listing of the 2008 SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team is below:

(#-Ties / *-Unanimous Selection) (Coaches could not vote for themselves or their own players)

2008 Preseason All-SEC Football Team (Coaches Vote)
Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Class Hometown
TE Cornelius Ingram Florida 6-4 223 Sr. Hawthorne, Fla.
OL *Andre Smith Alabama 6-5 340 Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
OL *Michael Oher Ole Miss 6-5 318 Sr. Memphis, Tenn.
OL *Anthony Parker Tennessee 6-3 305 Sr. Jonesboro, Ga.
OL Herman Johnson LSU 6-7 351 Sr. Olla, La.
C *Jonathan Luigs Arkansas 6-4 314 Sr. Little Rock, Ark.
WR Percy Harvin Florida 5-11 178 Jr. Virginia Beach, Va.
WR Kenny McKinley South Carolina 6-0 182 Sr. Mableton, Ga.
QB Tim Tebow Florida 6-3 232 Jr. Jacksonville, Fla.
RB *Knowshon Moreno Georgia 5-11 207 So. Belford, N.J.
RB Arian Foster Tennessee 6-1 215 Sr. San Diego, Calif.
TE Richard Dickson LSU 6-3 237 Jr. Ocean Springs, Miss.
OL Ciron Black LSU 6-5 314 Jr. Tyler, Texas
OL Tyronne Green Auburn 6-2 307 Sr. Pensacola, Fla.
OL #Ramon Foster Tennessee 6-6 325 Sr. Henning, Tenn.
OL #Lee Ziemba Auburn 6-8 288 So. Rogers, Ark.
OL #Mitch Petrus Arkansas 6-4 305 Sr. Carlisle, Ark.
OL #Garry Williams Kentucky 6-3 300 Sr. Louisville, Ky.
C #Antoine Caldwell Alabama 6-3 292 Sr. Montgomery, Ala.
C #Brett Helms LSU 6-2 283 Sr. Stuttgart, Ark.
WR Demetrius Byrd LSU 6-2 195 Sr. Miami, Fla.
WR Mohamed Massaquoi Georgia 6-2 198 Sr. Charlotte, N.C.
QB Matthew Stafford Georgia 6-3 237 Jr. Dallas, Texas
RB Anthony Dixon Mississippi State 6-1 240 Jr. Jackson, Miss.
RB Ben Tate Auburn 5-11 215 Jr. Newark, Md.
TE Jared Cook South Carolina 6-5 242 Jr. Suwanee, Ga.
OL Phil Trautwein Florida 6-6 301 Sr. Voorhees, N.J.
OL Jim Tartt Florida 6-3 300 Sr. Sochoppy, Fla.
OL John Jerry Ole Miss 6-5 350 Jr. Batesville, Miss.
OL Anthony Strauder Mississippi State 6-3 290 Sr. Natchez, Miss.
C Josh McNeil Tennessee 6-4 280 Jr. Collins, Miss.
WR Lucas Taylor Tennessee 6-0 185 Sr. Carencro, La.
WR Brandon LaFell LSU 6-3 194 Jr. Houston, Texas
QB John Parker Wilson Alabama 6-2 213 Sr. Hoover, Ala.
RB Keiland Williams LSU 5-11 223 Jr. Lafayette, La.
RB Terry Grant Alabama 5-10 188 So. Lumberton, Miss.
DL *Greg Hardy Ole Miss 6-4 265 Jr. Millington, Tenn.
DL Sen'Derrick Marks Auburn 6-1 288 Jr. Mobile, Ala.
DL Tyson Jackson LSU 6-5 292 Sr. Edgard, La.
LB *Brandon Spikes Florida 6-3 245 Jr. Shelby, N.C.
LB Rico McCoy Tennessee 6-1 215 Jr. Washington, D.C.
LB Darry Beckwith LSU 6-1 232 Sr. Baton Rouge, La.
LB Dannell Ellerbe Georgia 6-1 232 Sr. Hamlet, N.C.
DB Eric Berry Tennessee 5-11 195 So. Fairburn, Ga.
DB Derek Pegues Mississippi State 5-10 196 Sr. Batesville, Miss.
DB #Rashad Johnson Alabama 6-0 187 Sr. Sulligent, Ala.
DB #Captain Munnerlyn South Carolina 5-9 185 Jr. Mobile, Ala.
DB #D.J. Moore Vanderbilt 5-10 182 Jr. Spartanburg, S.C.
DL Ricky Jean-Francois LSU 6-3 281 Jr. Miami, Fla.
DL Geno Atkins Georgia 6-1 290 Jr. Pembroke Pines, Fla.
DL #Jeremy Jarmon Kentucky 6-3 277 Jr. Collierville, Tenn.
DL #Peria Jerry Ole Miss 6-2 290 Sr. Batesville, Miss.
LB Jasper Brinkley South Carolina 6-2 275 Sr. Thomson, Ga.
LB Rolando McClain Alabama 6-4 255 So. Decatur, Ala.
LB Eric Norwood South Carolina 6-1 270 Jr. Acworth, Ga.
LB #Tray Blackmon Auburn 6-2 220 Jr. LaGrange, Ga.
LB #Jamar Chaney Mississippi State 6-1 236 Sr. Fort Pierce, Fla.
DB Emanuel Cook South Carolina 5-10 214 Jr. Riviera Beach, Fla.
DB Asher Allen Georgia 5-10 198 Jr. Tucker, Ga.
DB Trevard Lindley Kentucky 6-0 175 Jr. Hiram, Ga.
DB Jerraud Powers Auburn 5-9 188 Jr. Decatur, Ala.
DL Antonio Coleman Auburn 6-2 250 Jr. Mobile, Ala.
DL #Antwain Robinson Arkansas 6-2 258 Sr. Little Rock, Ark.
DL #Kirston Pittman LSU 6-4 254 Sr. Garyville, La.
DL #Jeff Owens Georgia 6-3 298 Sr. Sunrise, Fla.
LB Rennie Curran Georgia 5-11 220 So. Snellville, Ga.
LB Micah Johnson Kentucky 6-2 250 Jr. Ft. Campbell, Ky.
LB Braxton Kelley Kentucky 6-0 230 Sr. LaGrange, Ga.
DB #Reshard Langford Vanderbilt 6-2 208 Sr. Tanner, Ala.
DB #Chad Jones LSU 6-3 222 So. Baton Rouge, La.
DB #Major Wright Florida 6-0 194 So. Miramar, Fla.
DB #Joe Haden Florida 5-11 180 So. Ft. Washington, Md.
DB #Wondy Pierre-Louis Florida 6-0 182 Jr. Naples, Fla.
PK Colt David LSU 5-9 175 Sr. Grapevine, Texas
P Ryan Shoemaker Auburn 6-0 192 So. Birmingham, Ala.
RS Brandon James Florida 5-6 179 Jr. St. Augustine, Fla.
PK Ryan Succop South Carolina 6-3 224 Sr. Hickory, N.C.
P Ryan Succop South Carolina 6-3 224 Sr. Hickory, N.C.
RS Javier Arenas Alabama 5-9 193 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
PK Leigh Tiffin Alabama 6-1 198 Jr. Muscle Shoals, Ala.
P Brian Mimbs Georgia 5-11 205 Sr. Dublin, Ga.
RS Trindon Holliday LSU 5-5 159 Jr. Zachary, La.


ADVERTISE - CONTACT - LEGAL is a proud partner of:

USA Today Sports Digital Properties