2007
College Football
Season Preview


C-USA Announces 2007 Football Television Schedule

League-record 50 Games to Air on National and Regional Television

From C-USA

July 26, 2007 Conference USA has announced its updated television schedule for the 2007 football season. The schedule features more than 50 games to be nationally or regionally, a new league record. National games will be-televised on CSTV, ESPN, ESPN 2, Fox Sports Net and the NFL Network. Included are a number of unopposed windows that provide tremendous exposure to C-USA, as well as several exciting league match-ups, and many challenging non-conference contests.

This season marks the third year of C-USA's partnership with CSTV: College Sports Television. CSTV and Conference USA signed a six-year initial term in 2005 that includes significant national and regional exposure for football, men's and women's basketball and other C-USA sports. CSTV, the fastest growing independent cable network, has agreements with distributors that serve more than 65 million households nationwide. It deals with the top six distributors - Comcast, DirecTV, Time Warner, Charter, Cox and Adelphia, among others.

Conference USA will also be featured on ESPN and its family of networks, having at least 19 regular season contests televised this fall, including 10 games as part of its contract with the network and additional non-conference games that have been selected by the network through agreements with other conferences. The third annual Conference USA Championship Game will be televised by ESPN or ESPN 2 on Saturday, December 1.

"We are very pleased to have so many of our football games on television and distributed to our fans throughout the nation," said Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky. "We are looking forward to a great conference race this fall and we're glad that people around the country will be able to watch so many of our games."

CSTV will air at least 14 national telecasts of C-USA football during the 2007 season, including 13 as part of the conference's package with the network. New Mexico visits UTEP on Saturday, September 1 to kick off the network's schedule. Eight of the 14 CSTV games will be conference matchups, including all but one game after September 22. The majority of the CSTV package will air on Saturday evenings, with five of the 14 games slated for afternoon kickoffs.

The ESPN schedule kicks off with the very first college football game of the 2007 season on Thursday, August 30 when Tulsa visits Louisiana-Monroe on ESPN 2. Two days later, three C-USA games appear on three different ESPN networks, as East Carolina visits Virginia Tech (ESPN), UAB plays at Michigan State (ESPN 2) and Marshall goes to Miami of Florida (ESPN U). In addition, College GameDay will air its season-opening show from Blacksburg, Va., just prior to the ECU-Virginia Tech contest. The Labor Day weekend of action concludes on Monday, September 3 when SMU hosts Texas Tech on ESPN in C-USA's fifth opening weekend game on the ESPN family of networks.

The ESPN schedule also features seven unopposed windows, with three Sunday night contests and one game each on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. Five of those games feature a pair of Conference USA teams in head-to-head matchups.

Fox Sports Net will air the Rice at Texas game on Saturday, September 22.

As part of the league's agreement with CSTV, at least 10 games have been sub-licensed for regional broadcast. Comcast Sports Southeast (CSS) will debut a seven-game regional package throughout the southeastern U.S. on September 1 when Memphis hosts Ole Miss. A three-game live regional package on the Mid-Atlantic Sports Network (MASN) begins on October 13 when East Carolina visits UTEP. Additional games will air on MASN on a tape-delay basis.

Additional Conference USA football television exposures remain a possibility, and will be released as soon as they are finalized.

2007 CONFERENCE USA FOOTBALL TELEVISION SCHEDULE
(confirmed games as of July 26)

CSTV NATIONAL
Saturday, September 1 New Mexico at UTEP 10:00 p.m. EDT/9:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 8 North Carolina at East Carolina 6:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 15 BYU at Tulsa 9:00 p.m. EDT/8:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 22 Colorado State at Houston 4:30 p.m. EDT/3:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 22 SMU at TCU 8:30 p.m. EDT/7:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 29 UTEP at SMU 4:30 p.m. EDT/3:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 6 UCF at East Carolina 7:30 p.m. EDT/6:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 13 Rice at Houston 3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 13 SMU at Southern Miss 7:30 p.m. EDT/6:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 20 North Carolina State at East Carolina 4:30 p.m. EDT/4:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 27 Rice at Marshall 4:30 p.m. EDT/4:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, November 3 Tulsa at Tulane 7:30 p.m. EST/6:30 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 10 UCF at UAB 7:30 p.m. EST/6:30 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 17 Southern Miss at UTEP 7:30 p.m. EST/6:30 p.m. CST

ESPN SCHEDULE
Saturday, September 1 East Carolina at Virginia Tech Noon EDT/11:00 a.m. CDT
Monday, September 3 Texas Tech at SMU 4:00 p.m. EDT/3:00 p.m. CDT
Thursday, September 27 Southern Miss at Boise State 7:30 p.m. EDT/6:30 p.m. CDT
Sunday, October 21 Southern Miss at Marshall 8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Sunday, October 28 UCF at Southern Miss 8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Sunday, November 4 SMU at Houston 8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Sunday, December 23 Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl 8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, December 29 AutoZone Liberty Bowl 4:30 p.m. EST/3:30 p.m. CST
Sunday, January 6 GMAC Bowl 8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST

ESPN 2 SCHEDULE
Thursday, August 30 Tulsa at Louisiana-Monroe 7:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, September 1 UAB at Michigan State Noon EDT/11:00 a.m. CDT
Saturday, September 8 West Virginia at Marshall 11:10 a.m. EDT/10:10 a.m. CDT
Saturday, September 15 Texas at UCF 3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Friday, September 21 Oklahoma at Tulsa 8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Tuesday, October 2 Marshall at Memphis 8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Wednesday, October 3 Rice at Southern Miss 7:30 p.m. EDT/6:30 p.m. CDT
Friday, December 21 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl 8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, December 22 Papajohns.com Bowl 1:00 p.m. EST/Noon CST

ESPN OR ESPN 2 SCHEDULE
Saturday, September 29 LSU at Tulane TBA
Saturday, December 1 C-USA Championship Game TBA

ESPN U SCHEDULE
Saturday, September 1 Marshall at Miami (Fla.) Noon EDT/11:00 a.m. CDT
Saturday, September 8 UAB at Florida State 6:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 6 Tulane at Army TBA

ESPN 360 SCHEDULE
Saturday, September 1 UCF at North Carolina State 6:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. CDT

ESPN 2/ESPN U/ESPN CLASSIC SCHEDULE
Saturday, November 17 Tulsa at Army TBA

FOX SPORTS NET SCHEDULE
Saturday, September 22 Rice at Texas 7:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. CDT

NFL NETWORK SCHEDULE
Friday, December 28 Texas Bowl 8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT

COMCAST SPORTS SOUTHEAST (CSS) REGIONAL
Saturday, September 1 Ole Miss at Memphis 3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 8 Mississippi State at Tulane 7:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 22 Memphis at UCF 3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, November 3 Marshall at UCF 3:30 p.m. EST/2:30 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 3 Southern Miss at UAB 7:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 10 Memphis at Southern Miss 4:30 p.m. EST/3:30 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 17 UAB at Memphis 3:30 p.m. EST/2:30 p.m. CST

ESPN REGIONAL SCHEDULE
Saturday, September 22 East Carolina at West Virginia 3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT

MID-ATLANTIC SPORTS NETWORK (MASN) REGIONAL
*Saturday, September 15 Southern Miss at East Carolina 11:00 p.m. EDT/10:00 p.m. CDT
*Saturday, September 29 East Carolina at Houston 11:00 p.m. EDT/10:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 13 East Carolina at UTEP 9:00 p.m. EDT/8:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 27 UAB at East Carolina 3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
*Saturday, November 3 East Carolina at Memphis 7:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. CST
*Saturday, November 10 East Carolina at Marshall 11:00 p.m. EDT/10:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, November 24 Tulane at East Carolina 1 p.m. EST/Noon CST
*game will air on a tape delay basis