Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-Conference Team Announced;
LSU, Arkansas lead with double figure selections

SEC Press Release
July 19, 2007

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The LSU Tigers and the Arkansas Razorbacks led all teams with 12 players selected to the 2007 Southeastern Conference Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team, the conference office announced today.

There were first, second and third-teams selected for this year's coaches pre-season squad.

Auburn had eight players selected to the three squads followed by Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, South Carolina and Tennessee with six each. Georgia and Vanderbilt had five each while Mississippi State had four and Ole Miss had three selections.

Each SEC institution had at least one player selected to the first-team with LSU leading the way with five. Tennessee and Vanderbilt had three each while Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky and Ole Miss had two players selected to the first-team.

Arkansas junior running back Darren McFadden was the only unanimous choice for first-team pre-season All-SEC by the league's coaches. Since coaches cannot vote for their own players, the Little Rock, Ark. native was listed on 11 of 12 ballots.

Of the 78 student-athletes named to the first, second and third teams, seven are sophomores, 23 are juniors and 48 are seniors.

McFadden, Ole Miss offensive lineman Michael Oher, Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs, Vanderbilt wide receiver Earl Bennett, Florida defensive lineman Derrick Harvey, Tennessee linebacker Jerod Mayo and Mississippi State defensive back Derek Pegues were the only underclassmen (all juniors) to make first-team honors.

LSU offensive lineman Will Arnold, Bennett, McFadden, Auburn defensive lineman Quentin Groves and Georgia placekicker Brandon Coutu were repeat first-team selections from the 2006 Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team.

Arkansas' Felix Jones earned second-team All-SEC honors as a running back and return specialist.

This is the fourth year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team. It is released in advance of the 2007 SEC Football Media Days, which will be held July 25-27 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala. Media in attendance at SEC Football Media Days will vote on the All-SEC Team and a predicted order of finish for the league.

The entire listing of the 2007 SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team is below:

(*-Ties / # - Unanimous vote – Coaches cannot vote for their own student-athletes, unanimous is listed first-team on 11 ballots.)

First Team - Offense
Pos. Name School Class
TE Jacob Tamme Kentucky Sr.
OL Will Arnold LSU Sr.
OL Michael Oher Ole Miss Jr.
OL Drew Miller Florida Sr.
OL Chris Williams Vanderbilt Sr.
C Jonathan Luigs Arkansas Jr.
WR Earl Bennett Vanderbilt Jr.
WR Early Doucet LSU Sr.
QB Andre' Woodson Kentucky Sr.
#RB Darren McFadden Arkansas Jr.
RB BenJarvus Green-Ellis Ole Miss Sr.
Second Team - Offense
TE Andy Boyd South Carolina Sr.
OL Phil Trautwein Florida Sr.
OL Robert Felton Arkansas Sr.
OL Andre Smith Alabama So.
OL Brian Stamper Vanderbilt Sr.
*C Antoine Caldwell Alabama Jr.
*C Brett Helms LSU Jr.
WR Marcus Monk Arkansas Sr.
WR Keenan Burton Kentucky Sr.
QB Erik Ainge Tennessee Sr.
RB Felix Jones Arkansas Jr.
RB LaMarcus Coker Tennessee So.
Third Team - Offense
TE Ben Cleveland Arkansas So.
OL Ciron Black LSU So.
OL King Dunlap Auburn Sr.
OL Anthony Parker Tennessee Jr.
OL Herman Johnson LSU Jr.
*C Royce Blackledge Miss. State Sr.
*C Fernando Velasco Georgia Sr.
WR Percy Harvin Florida So.
WR Andre Caldwell Florida Sr.
QB Chris Nicksion Vanderbilt Jr.
*RB Brad Lester Auburn Jr.
*RB Cory Boyd South Carolina Sr.
*RB Rafael Little Kentucky Sr.
First Team - Defense
DL Glenn Dorsey LSU Sr.
DL Quentin Groves Auburn Sr.
DL Derrick Harvey Florida Jr.
LB Ali Highsmith LSU Sr.
LB Jonathan Goff Vanderbilt Sr.
LB Jasper Brinkley South Carolina Sr.
LB Jerod Mayo Tennessee Jr.
DB Simeon Castille Alabama Sr.
DB Jonathan Hefney Tennessee Sr.
DB Chevis Jackson LSU Sr.
DB Derek Pegues Miss. State Jr.
Second Team - Defense
DL Titus Brown Miss. State Sr.
DL Tyson Jackson LSU Jr.
DL Antwain Robinson Arkansas Jr.
LB Wesley Woodyard Kentucky Sr.
LB Prince Hall Alabama So.
LB Darry Beckwith LSU Jr.
LB Brandon Miller Georgia Sr.
DB Tony Joiner Florida Sr.
DB Jonathan Zenon LSU Sr.
DB Jonathan Wilhite Auburn Sr.
DB Kelin Johnson Georgia Sr.
Third Team - Defense
DL Wallace Gilberry Alabama Sr.
DL Josh Thompson Auburn Sr.
*DL Casper Brinkley South Carolina Sr.
*DL Marcus Harrison Arkansas Sr.
LB Tray Blackmon Auburn So.
LB Weston Dacus Arkansas Sr.
LB Jamar Chaney Miss. State Jr.
LB Freddie Fairchild Arkansas So.
DB Craig Steltz LSU Sr.
DB Eric Brock Auburn Sr.
*DB Patrick Lee Auburn Sr.
*DB Jamarca Sanford Ole Miss Jr.
*DB Matt Hewitt Arkansas Sr.
First Team - Special Teams
PK Brandon Coutu Georgia Sr.
P Britton Colquitt Tennessee Jr.
RS Mikey Henderson Georgia Sr.
Second Team - Special Teams
PK Ryan Succop South Carolina Jr.
P Ryan Succop South Carolina Jr.
RS Felix Jones Arkansas Jr.
Third Team - Special Teams
PK Jamie Christensen Alabama Sr.
P None
RS Rafael Little Kentucky Sr.


ADVERTISE - CONTACT - LEGAL is a proud partner of:

USA Today Sports Digital Properties