Home Top 128 Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds PreGame PostGame Standings Bowls History Teams Links News Forum Season Preview More...


BCS Announces Teams Still Under Consideration For 2011 BCS Slots

Courtesy of the BCS
November 29, 2011

The Bowl Championship Series (BCS) conferences and bowls today announced those teams which remain under consideration to participate in the five games that comprise the BCS.

Twenty-two teams remain under consideration. The teams were identified during a teleconference among the 11 Football Bowl Subdivision conference commissioners, the Notre Dame athletics director, and representatives from the Discover Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO. The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the final BCS standings will meet in the Allstate BCS National Championship Game January 9 in New Orleans.

The champions of the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and Southeastern Conferences automatically qualify for a BCS game. In addition, the highest-ranked conference champion from among Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt and Western Athletic Conferences earns automatic qualification to one of the BCS games if that champion is ranked No. 12 or better, or No. 16 or better if rankedhigher than the champion of one of the six conferences with annual automatic qualification, in the final BCS standings.

At-large berths also may be available if fewer than 10 teams qualify automatically. The bowls would fill those berths from teams ranked in the top 14 of the final BCS Standings. No conference may place more than two teams in BCS games, unless the conference has two teams in the National Championship Game, and neither team is its champion.

The final BCS standings will be compiled Sunday, December 4. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8:15 p.m. Eastern time that day, on ESPN television.

The champions from the six conferences which receive automatic spots in the BCS games have not been determined. The following is a list of teams still contending for their conferences' automatic berth in a BCS game:

  • ACC: Clemson, Virginia Tech
  • Big East: Cincinnati, Louisville, West Virginia
  • Big Ten: Michigan State, Wisconsin
  • Big 12: Oklahoma, Oklahoma State
  • Pac-10: Oregon, UCLA
  • SEC: Georgia, LSU

In addition to those teams, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order): Alabama, Baylor, Boise State, Houston, Kansas State, Michigan, Southern Mississippi, Stanford, and TCU.

Following is the schedule of the BCS games. All games will be televised on ESPN.

  • January 2 - Rose Bowl Presented by VIZIO
  • January 2 - Tostitos Fiesta Bowl
  • January 3 - Allstate Sugar Bowl
  • January 4 - Discover Orange Bowl
  • January 9 - Allstate BCS National Championship Game

About the Bowl Championship Series

The BCS is a five-game arrangement for post-season college football that is managed by the 11 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences and Notre Dame. Its purpose is to match the two top-ranked teams in the final BCS standings in a national championship game and to create competitive match-ups in the four other BCS bowl games.

For more information, visit these resource pages on
BCS Releases Future Automatic Qualification Standards
BCS Explained
BCS Automatic Qualification, At-Large Eligibility and Selection Procedures, 2011-2014 Games
BCS Standings


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"