Some Clues to the 2018 Season

June 15, 2018 by Staff

Trying to predict how the college football season is going to go this early on in the year seems impossible, but the sport has left us with some ideas on how the season for this year is going to unfold. In the age of modern college football, specific trends have emerged, giving us guidance as to who is going to make the College Football Playoff, who is going to win certain Conference Championships, and who will take home the Heisman Trophy.

At Least One Team from the 2017’s Playoff Will Return in 2019

Since the College Football Playoff was introduced four years ago, one team has managed to appear in every single field: Alabama. Those who enjoy online betting will agree that it seems like a given that the Crimson Tide will most likely be able to make its way into the Playoffs in 2019. If, however, this fails to occur, history tells us that least one of the teams from last year’s playoffs will make it through.

The Big 12 Will Have a Different Champion This Year

One of the most demanding tasks to accomplish in sports is winning back-to-back Championships, and winning three-in-a-row is even more incredible.

Clemson and Oklahoma have each managed to win three consecutive Conference Championships, from 2015 to 2017, in their separate leagues, but could either go for four-in-a-row? No, not if we look at the history of college football. Since the Big 12 got formed back in 1996, no team has ever gone on to win four straight League titles.

Based on history, it’s highly unlikely that both of these teams will win their fourth consecutive Conference Championship for this season. It seems the Big 12 is likely to have a new champion this year, for the first time in three years, but history also shows us that no dynasty is untouchable!

The Heisman Trophy Will Go to a Quarterback

The Heisman Trophy has been following a very specific trend since 1999: over the past 19 years, there have only been four Running Backs to win the most coveted trophy in college football:

  1. Ron Dayne in 1999
  2. Reggie Bush in 2005
  3. Mark Ingram in 2009
  4. Derrick Henry in 2015

Six seasons between Dayne and Bush, four between Bush and Ingram, and six between Ingram and Henry. Every year besides these four has seen a quarterback take the award.

So, the pattern indicates that there won’t be another Running Back up for the Heisman Trophy until at least 2019, four seasons after Henry took it home in 2015. The chances are far better that another quarterback will be the recipient this December.

But, as of early May, the two favorites to win the Heisman are actually Running Backs: J.K. Dobbins and Jonathan Taylor. Will the Heisman Trophy trend hold up, or will a Running Back beat the odds to win the distinguished award? It’s a stand-off between common sense and history as to who takes the trophy in 2018.