Heisman Finalists Named For 2008

December 10, 2008 by CFP Staff and Heisman.com

Two-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin of the The Ohio State University announced the finalists for the 74th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Award live on ESPN's SportsCenter this evening. Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow were revealed as the three contenders for the award in the Heisman Gallery at the Sports Museum of America.

They will all be in New York on Saturday night when the award is given to the most outstanding college football player. This is first all-quarterback group of finalists since 2001.

Bradford looks to be Oklahoma's fifth Heisman recipient behind Billy Vessels ('52), Steve Owens ('69), Billy Sims ('78) and Jason White ('03). He has led the most explosive offense in college football this season averaging 54 points per game. Oklahoma will face Tebow's Gators in the BCS Championship game.

The sophomore has completed 302 of his attempted 442 passes for 4,464 yards with six interceptions and 48 touchdowns. He has scored five rushing touchdowns on the year. His 4,464 passing yards and 48 touchdowns are the most when compared with seasonal statistics of the last 10 quarterbacks to win the Heisman Trophy.

This season, Bradford broke Heisman winner Jason White's record for touchdowns in a season (48) and career touchdowns (84). He threw for 468 yards against Kansas which ranks first in Sooners' history for passing yards in a game. In addition, Bradford surpassed Florida's Rex Grossman with most touchdowns through the freshman and sophomore year with 82.

Colt McCoy is looking to join Earl Campbell ('77) and Ricky Williams ('98) footsteps to become the third Heisman winner and first quarterback from the University of Texas.

The junior is 291 of 375 attempts this season with seven interceptions for 3,445 yards and 32 touchdowns. He has also produced on the ground rushing for 576 yards and 10 touchdowns. McCoy's passing efficiency of 77.2 percent ranks first in the NCAA this season.

His career statistics of 9,007 passing yards and 81 touchdowns are the best in school's history under those categories.

Archie Griffin is the only player to win the award twice doing so in 1974 and 1975. Tebow looks to follow in his footsteps.

This season Tebow is 174 out of 268 passing attempts for 2,515 yards and 28 touchdowns with only two interceptions. The junior also ran for 564 yards and scored 12 touchdowns on the ground.

Tebow set a new school with 303 passing attempts without a pick and surpassed fellow Heisman winner Steve Spurrier on Florida's all-time offensive yardage list. In addition, Tebow broke Emmitt Smith's all-time rushing touchdowns record with 43.

These finalists will be invited to New York City for the live Heisman telecast on ESPN Saturday at 8pm EST.

The Heisman trophy is awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the United States as determined by 870 media representatives, 55 living Heisman winners and one overall fan vote through a partnership with Nissan, Heisman's presenting sponsor.

"This has been a tremendously exciting year for college football," said Robert Whalen, Executive Director of The Heisman Trophy Trust. "We eagerly await the announcement of the newest member to the elite Heisman Fraternity."