Announces 10th Annual CFP All-America Team

December 27, 2018 by CFP Staff today announced its 10th annual College Football All-America team. 25 players are selected - one for each position on an 11-man offensive roster, an 11-man defensive roster, plus three special team members (kicker, punter, return specialist). The committee is headed by Dave Congrove, owner/operator of the website and a member of the Football Writers Association of America.

Mr. Congrove is also a:
- voting member of the FWAA-NFF Super 16 Football Poll
- voting member for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
- voting member for the Ray Guy Award
- voting member for the Fred Biletnikoff Award
- voting member for the Bednarik Award
- voting member for the Maxwell Award
- voting member for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award
- voting member of the College Football Hall of Fame
- nominating member for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy
- nominating member for the Outland Trophy
- nominating member for the 25-player FWAA All-America Team

Congrove is the creator of the Congrove Computer Rankings (CCR Top 130).

The SEC dominates this year's team with 8 selections, highlighted by 3 Alabama players. The group is led by Alabama quarterback and Heisman runner-up Tua Tagovailoa, who earlier this month collected Player of the Year awards from Walter Camp and the Maxwell Football Club. Tagovailoa enters the bowl season with a passer rating of 202.30, a completion percentage of 67.7% and a TD-INT ratio of 37-4.

The Crimson Tide players joining Tagovailoa are offensive lineman Jonah Williams and and defensive lineman Quinnen Williams.

Jonathan Taylor of Wisconsin and Darrell Henderson of Memphis take running back honors. Taylor led the nation with 1,989 yards and Henderson was tied for the lead in rushing touchdowns with 22. Those two eked out Devin Singletary of FAU who added 22 rushing scores to the 32 Barry Sanders record-tying touchdowns he posted last season.

Also on this year's All-America team are Bednarik-winning linebacker Josh Allen of Kentucky, Thorpe-winning defensive back Deandre Baker of Georgia, and Ray Guy-winning punter Braden Mann of Texas A&M.

Mann's punting average of 51.15 is an NCAA single-season record, besting Chad Kessler of LSU, who averaged 50.3 yards on 39 punts in 1997. is proud to present this roster of All-Americans for 2018.

Position Player Name School
Quarterback: Tua Tagovailoa Alabama
Running Backs: Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin
  Darrell Henderson Memphis
Wide Receivers: Antoine Wesley Texas Tech
  J. J. Arciega-Whiteside Stanford
Tight End: Shawn Poindexter Arizona
Linemen: Jonah Williams Alabama
  Greg Little Mississippi
  Beau Benzschawel Wisconsin
  Nate Herbig Stanford
  Elgton Jenkins Mississippi State
Linemen: Jayson Ferguson Louisiana Tech
  Clelin Ferrell Clemson
  Quinnen Williams Alabama
  Ed Oliver Houston
Linebackers: Josh Allen Kentucky
  Ben Burr-Kirven Washington
  Joe Dineen, Jr. Kansas
Defensive Backs: Deandre Baker Georgia
  Jaquan Johnson Miami
  Dakari Monroe San Jose State
  Anthoula Kelly Fresno State
Punter: Braden Mann Texas A&M
Place-kicker: Andre Szmyt Syracuse
Returner: Amari Rodgers Clemson

This year's All-America team features the following number of players from each conference:
SEC - 8
ACC - 4
PAC-12 - 4
American - 2
Big Ten - 2
Big 12 - 2
MWC - 2           
CUSA - 1
Independents - 0
MAC - 0
Sun Belt - 0