Home Top 128 Season Preview Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Bowls History Teams News Forum More...

All-America Team

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2011 All-America Team

Third Annual Edition Honors Nation's Top Players At Every Position

by CFP Staff
December 13, 2011 today announced its All-America selections for 2011. The website committee is headed by Dave Congrove, owner/operator of the website and a member of the Football Writers Association of America.

Mr. Congrove is also a:
- voting member of the Vince Lombardi Award
- voting member for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
- nominating member for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy
- nominating member for the Outland Trophy
- nominating member for the 25-player FWAA All-America Team

Congrove is the creator of the Congrove Computer Rankings (CCR Top 120).

"The 2011 season saw some unfortunate injuries to many top players such as South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore and Oklahoma receiver Ryan Broyles," said Congrove.

"In the case of Broyles, who went down with a knee injury in the November 5th victory over Texas A&M, we couldn't come up with any good reason to exclude him as an All-American," Congrove added. Through a little more than 8-1/2 games, Broyles had 83 catches, 1,157 receiving yards and 10 touchdowns.

Congrove lamented, "Unfortunately, 2011 also saw great players such as Oregon DB and return specialist Cliff Harris, a 2010 CFP All-American, unable to stay out of trouble."

That said, 2011 saw a ton of talent on the field and is proud to present this roster of All-Americans.

Quarterback: Robert Griffin III Baylor
Running Backs: Montee Ball Wisconsin
  Trent Richardson Alabama
Wide Receivers: Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State
  Ryan Broyles Oklahoma
Tight End: Dwayne Allen Clemson
Linemen: Barrett Jones Alabama
  David Molk Michigan
  David DeCastro Stanford
  Levy Adcock Oklahoma State
  Matt Kalil USC
Linemen: Vinny Curry Marshall
  Melvin Ingram South Carolina
  Devon Still Penn State
  Andre Branch Clemson
Linebackers: Luke Kuechly Boston College
  Dont'a Hightower Alabama
  Courtney Upshaw Alabama
Defensive Backs: Tyrann Mathieu LSU
  Morris Claiborne LSU
  David Amerson N.C. State
  Bacarri Rambo Georgia
Punter: Ray Allen Louisiana Tech
Place-kicker: Randy Bullock Texas A&M
Returner: Joe Adams Arkansas

The CFP All-America offensive unit includes Heisman-winning QB Robert Griffin III of Baylor and two-time Fred Biletnikoff Award-winner Justin Blackmon of Oklahoma State.

The defense includes Clemson's Andre Branch, following Da'Quan Bowers' selection to the team in 2010.

Other award-winners that appear on the 2011 CFP All-America Team are Trent Richardson (Doak Walker), Dwayne Allen (John Mackey), Barrett Jones (Outland Trophy), David Molk (Rimington Trophy), Morris Claiborne (Jim Thorpe Award), Ray Allen (Ray Guy Award), Randy Bullock (Lou Groza Award), Tyrann Mathieu (Chuck Bednarik Award), and Luke Kuechly (Dick Butkus, Bronko Nagurski and Vince Lombardi Awards).

Additionally, Montee Ball was a Heisman finalist who enters the bowl season leading the nation in rushing yards with 1,759 and has scored 38 total touchdowns (32 rushing). That's the second-highest single-season TD total on record, behind Barry Sanders who is credited by the NCAA with 39. However, Sanders actually had 44 after scoring 5 more TD's in 3 quarters of the 1988 Holiday Bowl (bowl stats were not counted in NCAA statistics prior to 2002).

Tyrann Mathieu was also a Heisman finalist.

Kuechly and Blackmon were also 2010 CFP All-Americans.

This year's All-America team features the following number of players from each conference:
SEC - 9
Big 12 - 5
ACC - 4
Big Ten - 3
PAC-10 - 2
CUSA - 1
WAC - 1
Big East - 0
Independents - 0
Mountain West - 0
Sun Belt - 0


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"