Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

All-America Team

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2010 All-America Team

Second Annual Edition Honors Nation's Top Players At Every Position

by CFP Staff
December 15, 2010 today announced its All-America selections for 2010. The website committee is headed by Dave Congrove, owner/operator of the website and a member of the Football Writers Association of America.

Mr. Congrove is also a:
- voting member of the Vince Lombardi Award
- voting member for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
- nominating member for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy
- nominating member for the Outland Trophy
- nominating member for the 25-player FWAA All-America Team

Congrove is the creator of the Congrove Computer Rankings (CCR Top 120).

"I had my reservations about voting for Cam Newton due to the NCAA pay-for-play investigation," said Congrove. "But I became convinced that his performance on the field was deserving of acknowledging him as an All-American at quarterback.".

Auburn's Newton has also been presented with both the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Awards which go to the top player in college football, as well as the Davey O'Brien Award for top quarterback.

Quarterback: Cam Newton Auburn
Running Backs: LaMichael James Oregon
  Kendall Hunter Oklahoma State
Wide Receivers: Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State
  Greg Salas Hawaii
Tight End: Michael Egnew Missouri
Linemen: Gabe Carimi Wisconsin
  Jake Kirkpatrick TCU
  Joseph Barksdale LSU
  Anthony Castonzo Boston College
  Derek Sherrod Mississippi State
Linemen: Da'Quan Bowers Clemson
  Ryan Kerrigan Purdue
  Drake Nevis LSU
  Nick Fairley Auburn
Linebackers: Greg Jones Michigan State
  Luke Kuechly Boston College
  Justin Houston Georgia
Defensive Backs: Jayron Hosley Virginia Tech
  Cliff Harris Oregon
  Mana Silva Hawaii
  Tejay Johnson TCU
Punter: Chas Henry Florida
Place-kicker: Alex Henery Nebraska
Returner: Cliff Harris Oregon

The CFP All-America offensive unit includes WR Justin Blackmon (Fred Biletnikoff Award) and RB Kendall Hunter from Oklahoma State. The pair were instrumental in putting the Cowboys in the thick of the Big 12 race. Head coach Mike Gundy's team finished the regular season with a 10-2 record for its best mark since 1988. The Cowboys have a chance to set a new school record for wins in a single season when they face Arizona in the Alamo Bowl.

The offense includes major award winners Chas Henry of Florida (Ray Guy Award), Gabe Carimi of Wisconsin (Outland Trophy) and LaMichael James of Oregon (Doak Walker Award).

Defensive All-Americans feature Clemson's Da'Quan Bowers (Bronko Nagurski Trophy) and Nick Fairley of Auburn (Vince Lombardi Award).

Specialist Cliff Harris of Oregon had 4 punt returns for touchdowns while averaging 19.46 yards per return. The defensive back also had 5 interceptions with 1 TD and led the country with 15 passes breakups.

Hawaii receiver Greg Salas has been largely overlooked by other award and All-America committees, disregarding his 128.8 yards in receptions per game and 106 total receptions for the season. Though it wasn't a consideration of his All-America status this year, Salas has caught 269 balls for 4,096 yards and 23 TD's over the last 3 seasons.

Mana Silva is another Hawaii player who posted phenomenal numbers, tying Virginia Tech's Jayron Hosley for the national lead with 8 interceptions.

This year's All-America team features the following number of players from each conference:
SEC - 7
ACC - 4
Big 12 - 4
Big Ten - 3
PAC-10 - 3
Mountain West - 2
WAC - 2
Big East - 0
CUSA - 0
Independents - 0
MAC - 0
Sun Belt - 0


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"