Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 |

No Surprise: Troy Smith Wins Heisman

by Matt James
December 9, 2005

In the second-most lopsided win in Heisman Trophy history, Ohio State quarterback took home the hardware from the Nokia Theatre in New York City on Saturday night. The ceremony was hosted by the Yale Club.

1,662 points separated him from running back Darren McFadden of Arkansas. Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn placed third after finishing fourth last year.

USC's O.J. Simpson won by 1,750 points in 1968.

Smith completed 199-of-297 passes for 2.507 yards, 30 TD's, and just 5 INT's. He also ran 62 times for 233 yards but running is no longer part of his focus. Last year, he ran for 611 yards on 136 attempts. Now, he's content to be pocket passer.

McFadden, who ran for 1,113 yards and 11 TD's as a freshman in 2005, added 1,558 yards and 14 touchdowns this year as a sophomore. He added 149 yards and 1 TD receiving, and threw 3 TD passes. He also had a 92-yard kick-off return for a touchdown.

It's the seventh time the award has gone to a Buckeye. RB Eddie George was the most recent recipient in 1995. RB Archie Griffin was a two-time winner in 1974 and 1975. The first Ohio State player to win the Heisman was quarterback Les Horvath in 1944. He was followed by halfback Vic Janowicz in 1950, and HB Howard "Hopalong" Cassady in 1955.

Notre Dame and USC are the only other schools to tally seven Heismans.

Only two of this year's top ten vote-getters were seniors and four were sophomores. Last year, seven were seniors and three were juniors.

Each voter gets to submit a ballot that ranks their top three players. Points are tallied by awarding 3 points for each first-place vote, two points for second, and one point for third.

Troy Smith Sr. Ohio State QB 801 62 13 2,540
Darren McFadden So. Arkansas RB 45 298 147 878
Brady Quinn Sr. Notre Dame QB 13 276 191 782
Steve Slaton So. West Virginia RB 6 51 94 214
Mike Hart Jr. Michigan RB 5 58 79 210
Colt Brennan Jr. Hawaii QB 6 44 96 202
Ray Rice So. Rutgers RB 1 16 44 79
Ian Johnson So. Boise State RB 1 13 44 73
Dwayne Jarrett Jr. USC WR 1 11 22 47
Calvin Johnson Jr. Georgia Tech WR 1 8 24 43

Also See: All-Time Heisman List



AP Coach Of the Year: Jim Grobe, Wake Forest

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Greg Schiano, Rutgers

AP Player Of the Year: Troy Smith, QB, Ohio State

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Paul Posluszny, Penn State
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): Patrick Willis, Mississippi
See: All-Time Butkus Award Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Troy Smith, QB, Ohio State
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Art Carmody, Louisville
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): LaMarr Woodley, DE, Michigan
See: All-Time Vince Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Matt Spaeth, Minnesota
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
See: All-Time Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): James Laurinaitus, Ohio State, LB
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Troy Smith, QB, Ohio State
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Joe Thomas, Wisconsin
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): Dan Mozes, West Virginia
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Aaron Ross, Texas
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Darren McFadden, Arkansas
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners


ADVERTISE - CONTACT - LEGAL is a proud partner of:

USA Today Sports Digital Properties