Home Season Preview Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Teams Bowls History Links News Message Board More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 |

Crouch Claims Heisman Trophy

by CFP Staff

The Downtown Athletic Club of New York City bestowed the 2001 Heisman Trophy on Eric Crouch Saturday night.

As expected, it was one of the closest races in the history of the award as the Nebraska option quarterback edged Florida's sophomore pocket-passing phenom, Rex Grossman, 770-708.

Miami quarterback Ken Dorsey was third with 638 points and Oregon quarterback Joey Harrington fourth with 368 points. Crouch's margin of victory was the fourth closest in the Heisman's 67-year history, and the smallest since Oregon State's Terry Baker won in 1962. There may be an explanation for that.

Though 924 ballots were mailed out, but only 585 were counted among the top 10 finishers, or just 63.3 percent. Heisman officials report there is usually an 80 percent return rate but could offer no explanation for the unusual amount of missing ballots.

Crouch received 162 first-place votes, 98 second-place votes and 88 third-place votes, but won only one region -- the Southwest. Grossman had 137 first-place votes, 105 for second and 87 for third. He won the Mid-Atlantic and South.

Dorsey, who led Miami to an 11-0 record and a spot in the national title game, had 109 first-place votes, 122 for second and 67 for third. He won the Northeast.

Harrington, who threw for 2,414 yards and 23 TDs in leading the Ducks (10-1) to the Pac-10 title, had 54 first-place votes, 68 for second and 66 for third. He won the Far West.

The closest Heisman vote was Bo Jackson's 45-point victory over Chuck Long in 1985.

Voters list three choices on their ballots, and players are awarded 3 points for first place, 2 for second and 1 for third.

Fresno State quarterback David Carr was fifth, followed by Indiana quarterback Antwaan Randle El, Oklahoma safety Roy Williams, Miami left tackle Bryant McKinnie, Syracuse defensive end Dwight Freeney and North Carolina defensive end Julius Peppers.

The Heisman ceremony was held at the Marriott Marquis in midtown Manhattan due to damage sustained by the Downtown Athletic Club in the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.

Also See: All-Time Heisman List



Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Julius Peppers, North Carolina
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Josh Reed, LSU
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Dick Butkus Award-Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Seth Marler, Tulane
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): Travis Dorsch, Purdue
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Eric Crouch, Nebraska, QB
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): Julius Peppers, DE, North Carolina
See: All-Time Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Daniel Graham, Colorado
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Ken Dorsey, Miami (Fla.)
See: All-Time Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Roy Williams, Oklahoma, DB
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Eric Crouch, Nebraska
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Bryant McKinnie, Miami (Fla.)
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): LeCharles Bentley, Ohio State
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Roy Williams, Oklahoma
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): David Carr, Fresno State
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Luke Staley, BYU
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Ralph Friedgen, Maryland


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"